[{"data":1,"prerenderedAt":997},["ShallowReactive",2],{"content-\u002Fblog\u002Fbest-invoicing-software-for-freelancers":3},{"_path":4,"_dir":5,"_draft":6,"_partial":6,"_locale":7,"title":8,"description":9,"createdAt":10,"updatedAt":11,"keepImagesInline":12,"primaryKeyword":13,"author":14,"tags":17,"takeaways":22,"related":28,"faq":53,"sources":72,"softwareRanking":105,"disclosure":134,"readingTime":135,"body":140,"_type":991,"_id":992,"_source":993,"_file":994,"_stem":995,"_extension":996},"\u002Fblog\u002Fbest-invoicing-software-for-freelancers","blog",false,"","Best invoicing software for freelancers in 2026: get paid on time","Seven invoicing tools for freelancers compared on price, entry-plan limits, reminders and recurring invoices, with a use-case table and a one-invoice test you can run in a trial.","2026-10-13T12:00:00.000Z","2026-10-14T12:00:00.000Z",true,"Best invoicing software for freelancers",{"name":15,"role":16},"Simon Dziak","Founder, Workspace369",[18,19,20,21],"invoicing","freelancers","payments","time tracking",[23,24,25,26,27],"Good freelancer invoicing software sends the invoice the day the work is done, lets the client pay online, and follows up on its own when payment is late.","FreshBooks is invoicing-first with a 30-day trial and no card required, but its Lite plan covers only 5 billed clients; Workspace369 suits freelancers whose invoices start from a proposal, a deposit or tracked time.","Wave, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja have free plans, each with its own limit: Wave Starter leaves automated reminders to Pro, Zoho caps invoices at 500 a year and Invoice Ninja caps free clients at 5.","Bonsai Basic has no invoicing; freelancers need Essentials or higher. HoneyBook lists payment reminders, but not time tracking.","Run one invoice from creation to partial payment in each trial, then set up one recurring retainer. If either step needs a workaround, it will need one every month.",[29,32,35,38,41,44,47,50],{"title":30,"path":31},"Freelancer invoicing software","\u002Fsolutions\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-software",{"title":33,"path":34},"Freelance invoice payment terms","\u002Fblog\u002Ffreelance-invoice-payment-terms",{"title":36,"path":37},"Invoice follow-up email templates","\u002Fblog\u002Finvoice-follow-up-email-templates",{"title":39,"path":40},"Best invoice software","\u002Fblog\u002Fbest-invoice-software",{"title":42,"path":43},"Payment reminder software","\u002Fsolutions\u002Fpayment-reminder-software",{"title":45,"path":46},"Workspace369 vs FreshBooks","\u002Fcompare\u002Ffreshbooks",{"title":48,"path":49},"Workspace369 vs Harvest","\u002Fcompare\u002Fharvest",{"title":51,"path":52},"Workspace369 vs Bonsai","\u002Fcompare\u002Fbonsai",[54,57,60,63,66,69],{"question":55,"answer":56},"What is the best invoicing software for freelancers?","It depends on how your invoices begin. FreshBooks is invoicing-first, Wave and Zoho Invoice have free plans for light billing, and Workspace369 suits freelancers whose invoices start from proposals, deposits or tracked time.",{"question":58,"answer":59},"Is there free invoicing software for freelancers?","Yes. Wave Starter is $0, Zoho Invoice has a free plan with up to 500 invoices a year, and Invoice Ninja is free for up to 5 clients, per their pricing pages. Each leaves some features, such as automated reminders on Wave and Invoice Ninja, to paid tiers or other tools.",{"question":61,"answer":62},"How much does freelancer invoicing software cost?","On October 14, 2026, the entry paid plans with invoicing that we checked ranged from $14 a month (Invoice Ninja Pro) to $29 a month (HoneyBook Starter billed yearly and Workspace369 Cadet billed monthly). Compare the plan that includes the features you tested, plus payment processing fees.",{"question":64,"answer":65},"Do I need accounting software to send invoices?","Not always. If you only need to bill clients and get paid, an invoicing tool is enough. If your accountant wants your books in one system, check whether your invoicing tool also does bookkeeping or exports cleanly.",{"question":67,"answer":68},"Which invoicing tools turn tracked time into invoices?","Of the tools checked, FreshBooks, Workspace369, Bonsai, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja list time tracking. Test whether tracked hours become invoice lines without retyping.",{"question":70,"answer":71},"How do I test invoicing software before I buy?","Send one invoice to a second email address, pay part of it from your phone, and check the remaining balance. Then set up one recurring invoice for a retainer.",[73,77,81,85,89,93,97,101],{"title":74,"url":75,"note":76},"FreshBooks pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.freshbooks.com\u002Fpricing","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for plan prices, billed-client limits, processing fees and trial terms.",{"title":78,"url":79,"note":80},"Workspace369 pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fworkspace369.com\u002Fpricing\u002F","Plan matrix reviewed October 14, 2026.",{"title":82,"url":83,"note":84},"Bonsai pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.hellobonsai.com\u002Fpricing","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for Basic and Essentials features and trial terms.",{"title":86,"url":87,"note":88},"HoneyBook pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.honeybook.com\u002Fpricing","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for Starter price, lead-form limits and trial terms.",{"title":90,"url":91,"note":92},"Wave pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.waveapps.com\u002Fpricing","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for Starter and Pro prices, payment fees and reminders.",{"title":94,"url":95,"note":96},"Wave invoicing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.waveapps.com\u002Finvoicing","Official product page reviewed October 14, 2026 for recurring invoices and late-payment reminders.",{"title":98,"url":99,"note":100},"Zoho Invoice pricing","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.zoho.com\u002Finvoice\u002Fpricing\u002F","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for free-plan limits and features.",{"title":102,"url":103,"note":104},"Invoice Ninja pricing","https:\u002F\u002Finvoiceninja.com\u002Fpricing-plans\u002F","Official pricing page reviewed October 14, 2026 for Free and Pro limits and prices.",[106,110,114,118,122,126,130],{"name":107,"url":108,"position":109},"FreshBooks","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.freshbooks.com\u002F",1,{"name":111,"url":112,"position":113},"Workspace369","https:\u002F\u002Fworkspace369.com\u002Fsolutions\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-software\u002F",2,{"name":115,"url":116,"position":117},"Bonsai","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.hellobonsai.com\u002F",3,{"name":119,"url":120,"position":121},"HoneyBook","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.honeybook.com\u002F",4,{"name":123,"url":124,"position":125},"Wave","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.waveapps.com\u002F",5,{"name":127,"url":128,"position":129},"Zoho Invoice","https:\u002F\u002Fwww.zoho.com\u002Finvoice\u002F",6,{"name":131,"url":132,"position":133},"Invoice Ninja","https:\u002F\u002Finvoiceninja.com\u002F",7,"Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.",{"text":136,"minutes":137,"time":138,"words":139},"9 min read",8.685,521100,1737,{"type":141,"children":142,"toc":974},"root",[143,160,171,178,183,189,194,249,254,260,267,272,282,292,298,307,341,350,359,365,370,379,388,394,399,408,417,423,428,437,446,452,457,466,475,481,486,495,504,510,740,746,876,882,887,915,920,929,935,955,961],{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":146,"children":147},"element","p",{},[148,151,158],{"type":149,"value":150},"text","The best invoicing software for freelancers gets the invoice out the day the work is done, lets the client pay online, and chases late payments for you. For billing alone, FreshBooks is our first pick. Workspace369 fits when invoices start from a proposal, deposit or tracked hours, and Wave, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja suit tight budgets. Not sure what to charge yet? Try the free ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":153,"children":155},"a",{"href":154},"\u002Ftools\u002Finvoice-generator\u002F",[156],{"type":149,"value":157},"invoice generator",{"type":149,"value":159}," first.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":161,"children":162},{},[163,169],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":165,"children":166},"strong",{},[167],{"type":149,"value":168},"Disclosure and method:",{"type":149,"value":170}," Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 14, 2026. Check current plans, fees and limits with each vendor before you buy.",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":173,"children":175},"h2",{"id":174},"what-invoicing-software-is-and-what-it-is-not",[176],{"type":149,"value":177},"What invoicing software is (and what it is not)",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":179,"children":180},{},[181],{"type":149,"value":182},"Invoicing software creates an invoice, sends it, takes payment and tracks what is still owed. It is not the same as accounting software, which keeps your books, categorizes bank transactions and prepares tax reports. Some tools do both, and some do only the first. If your accountant needs your books in one place, check that before you choose; if you only need to get paid, a lighter tool is enough.",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":184,"children":186},{"id":185},"how-we-compared-these-tools",[187],{"type":149,"value":188},"How we compared these tools",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":190,"children":191},{},[192],{"type":149,"value":193},"We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing and product pages:",{"type":144,"tag":195,"props":196,"children":197},"ol",{},[198,209,219,229,239],{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":200,"children":201},"li",{},[202,207],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":203,"children":204},{},[205],{"type":149,"value":206},"Entry price for one person",{"type":149,"value":208},", as listed on October 14, 2026, including any free plan.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":210,"children":211},{},[212,217],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":213,"children":214},{},[215],{"type":149,"value":216},"Billing features on that plan:",{"type":149,"value":218}," online payment, recurring invoices, automatic reminders and time tracking.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":220,"children":221},{},[222,227],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":223,"children":224},{},[225],{"type":149,"value":226},"Hard limits on the entry plan:",{"type":149,"value":228}," clients, invoices, projects or users.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":230,"children":231},{},[232,237],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":233,"children":234},{},[235],{"type":149,"value":236},"What sits around the invoice:",{"type":149,"value":238}," proposals, a client portal, or accounting.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":240,"children":241},{},[242,247],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":243,"children":244},{},[245],{"type":149,"value":246},"Trial terms:",{"type":149,"value":248}," length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":250,"children":251},{},[252],{"type":149,"value":253},"We did not test payment speed, support or reliability, and we did not use third-party ratings. Processing fees change, so we mention them only where the vendor's page states them. Order reflects fit for a freelancer who bills clients directly.",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":255,"children":257},{"id":256},"the-best-invoicing-software-for-freelancers-in-2026",[258],{"type":149,"value":259},"The best invoicing software for freelancers in 2026",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":262,"children":264},"h3",{"id":263},"_1-freshbooks-best-for-invoicing-first-billing-with-automatic-reminders",[265],{"type":149,"value":266},"1. FreshBooks, best for invoicing-first billing with automatic reminders",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":268,"children":269},{},[270],{"type":149,"value":271},"FreshBooks' pricing page lists unlimited invoicing, online card and ACH payments, unlimited time tracking, automated recurring invoices and automated late-payment reminders on all four plans. Lite is listed at $23 a month, Plus at $43 and Premium at $70, with a 30-day trial that the page says needs no credit card. Its pricing page lists card processing at 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction. Every billing feature a freelancer asks for sits on the entry plan, which makes it a simple answer if invoices are the main job.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":273,"children":274},{},[275,280],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":276,"children":277},{},[278],{"type":149,"value":279},"Limitations:",{"type":149,"value":281}," Lite covers 5 billed clients and Plus 50, so a growing client list pushes you up a plan. Extra team members are $11 a month each.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":283,"children":284},{},[285,290],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":286,"children":287},{},[288],{"type":149,"value":289},"Best for:",{"type":149,"value":291}," freelancers whose main need is sending invoices and getting paid, with a short client list.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":293,"children":295},{"id":294},"_2-workspace369-best-when-invoices-start-from-a-proposal-a-deposit-or-tracked-time",[296],{"type":149,"value":297},"2. Workspace369, best when invoices start from a proposal, a deposit or tracked time",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":299,"children":300},{},[301],{"type":144,"tag":302,"props":303,"children":306},"img",{"alt":304,"src":305},"Workspace369 invoice editor with line items, a partial payment and a Pay Now button in the client preview","\u002Fimages\u002Fsolutions\u002Finvoice-edit-light-clean.webp",[],{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":308,"children":309},{},[310,315,317,323,325,331,333,339],{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":311,"children":313},{"href":312},"\u002Fsolutions\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-software\u002F",[314],{"type":149,"value":111},{"type":149,"value":316}," puts ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":318,"children":320},{"href":319},"\u002Ffeatures\u002Finvoices\u002F",[321],{"type":149,"value":322},"invoices",{"type":149,"value":324},", recurring invoices, retainers and payment schedules, payment links and online payments on every plan. Time tracking with time-to-invoice is on every plan too, and so are the client portal and proposals signed by link. Cadet is $29 a month for one person ($23.25 billed yearly). The demo invoice above is partly paid: the preview shows the amount paid, the remaining balance and a Pay Now button. Use ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":326,"children":328},{"href":327},"\u002Ffeatures\u002Fpayments\u002F",[329],{"type":149,"value":330},"online payments",{"type":149,"value":332}," for card checkout and ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":334,"children":336},{"href":335},"\u002Ffeatures\u002Fretainers-and-recurring-billing\u002F",[337],{"type":149,"value":338},"retainers and recurring billing",{"type":149,"value":340}," for monthly clients.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":342,"children":343},{},[344,348],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":345,"children":346},{},[347],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":349}," Cadet allows 1 seat and up to 5 active projects. Payment plans, expenses and AR aging start at Specialist ($149 a month). Credit notes are coming soon. It costs more than free invoicing apps, and the 14-day trial needs a card.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":351,"children":352},{},[353,357],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":354,"children":355},{},[356],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":358}," freelancers whose invoices depend on an accepted proposal, a deposit or hours tracked against a project.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":360,"children":362},{"id":361},"_3-bonsai-best-for-time-tracking-and-contracts-alongside-invoices",[363],{"type":149,"value":364},"3. Bonsai, best for time tracking and contracts alongside invoices",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":366,"children":367},{},[368],{"type":149,"value":369},"Bonsai prices per user. Basic is $15 a month ($9 billed yearly) but has no invoicing. Essentials is $25 a month ($19 billed yearly) and adds invoices and payments, a client portal, proposals and contracts, forms and scheduling. Time tracking is on every plan. The 7-day trial gives full access, and the pricing page does not clearly say whether a card is needed at sign-up. If you run the test, trial Essentials rather than Basic.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":371,"children":372},{},[373,377],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":374,"children":375},{},[376],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":378}," invoicing is not on Basic, and integrations such as QuickBooks and Zapier start at Premium ($29 a month billed yearly). The page does not map recurring invoices or reminders to a plan, so check both in the trial.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":380,"children":381},{},[382,386],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":383,"children":384},{},[385],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":387}," freelancers who track hours and send contracts as well as invoices, and who bill as one person.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":389,"children":391},{"id":390},"_4-honeybook-best-for-invoices-inside-a-booking-workflow",[392],{"type":149,"value":393},"4. HoneyBook, best for invoices inside a booking workflow",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":395,"children":396},{},[397],{"type":149,"value":398},"HoneyBook lists invoices and payments with one-time, recurring or custom schedules, and automatic payment reminders, on its plans. Starter is $29 a month billed yearly, with a 30-day trial that its FAQ says needs no card. It is built around inquiry, proposal, contract and payment, so the invoice follows a signed booking. Unlimited clients and projects are included, so the cap that matters is not the client count. If you run the one-invoice test, expect the invoice step to feel natural when it follows an accepted proposal, and less so for a one-off bill with no booking behind it.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":400,"children":401},{},[402,406],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":403,"children":404},{},[405],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":407}," Starter allows 2 live lead forms and no team members, and the page does not list time tracking. Hourly billing from a timer is not its strength.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":409,"children":410},{},[411,415],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":412,"children":413},{},[414],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":416}," photographers, planners and designers who sell fixed-price bookings and want the invoice to follow the contract.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":418,"children":420},{"id":419},"_5-wave-best-for-light-billing-with-a-free-starting-plan",[421],{"type":149,"value":422},"5. Wave, best for light billing with a free starting plan",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":424,"children":425},{},[426],{"type":149,"value":427},"Wave Starter is $0 and its pricing page lists unlimited estimates and invoices. Online card payments are 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction on Starter. Pro is $19 a month or $190 a year and adds scheduled reminders at 3, 7 and 14 days after the due date, plus branding removal. Wave's invoicing page says recurring invoices come with a Pro subscription. If you run the one-invoice test on Starter, expect to send the invoice and take the payment, then hit the Pro gate when you set up reminders or a retainer. Price Pro, not Starter, if those two matter to you.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":429,"children":430},{},[431,435],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":432,"children":433},{},[434],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":436}," automated reminders and recurring invoices are Pro features, and time tracking is not listed. Trial and card terms are not stated on the pages we reviewed.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":438,"children":439},{},[440,444],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":441,"children":442},{},[443],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":445}," freelancers with occasional invoices who want a free start and will pay per card transaction.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":447,"children":449},{"id":448},"_6-zoho-invoice-best-for-free-invoicing-with-a-client-portal",[450],{"type":149,"value":451},"6. Zoho Invoice, best for free invoicing with a client portal",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":453,"children":454},{},[455],{"type":149,"value":456},"Zoho Invoice's free plan is described as forever free. It lists up to 500 invoices a year, 2 users, 3 projects, recurring invoices, automated payment reminders, time tracking with projects and a self-service customer portal. Invoices carry \"Powered by Zoho Invoice\" branding. If you run the one-invoice test, expect the recurring invoice and reminder steps to be available without a paid tier, so the real question is whether 500 invoices a year and 3 projects fit your volume.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":458,"children":459},{},[460,464],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":461,"children":462},{},[463],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":465}," the 500-invoice and 3-project caps apply, inactive accounts have data deleted after 180 days with notice, and the page shows no paid tier. Pairing with Zoho's other products is the path for bookkeeping.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":467,"children":468},{},[469,473],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":470,"children":471},{},[472],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":474}," freelancers with a modest invoice count who want reminders and a portal at no cost.",{"type":144,"tag":261,"props":476,"children":478},{"id":477},"_7-invoice-ninja-best-for-open-source-flexibility-and-a-low-paid-tier",[479],{"type":149,"value":480},"7. Invoice Ninja, best for open-source flexibility and a low paid tier",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":482,"children":483},{},[484],{"type":149,"value":485},"Invoice Ninja's Free plan covers up to 5 clients with unlimited invoicing, recurring invoices, time tracking and a client portal. Ninja Pro is $14 a month ($140 a year) with unlimited clients and invoices and automatic late-payment reminder emails. A self-hosting option is linked from its site, which suits freelancers who want to run the software themselves. If you run the one-invoice test on Free, expect to send the invoice and take the payment, then check the reminder step against Pro. Paid plans carry a 30-day money-back promise.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":487,"children":488},{},[489,493],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":490,"children":491},{},[492],{"type":149,"value":279},{"type":149,"value":494}," Free does not include automatic reminders, custom invoice designs or branding removal. The pricing page mentions no free trial for paid plans, and card terms for paid plans are not stated.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":496,"children":497},{},[498,502],{"type":144,"tag":164,"props":499,"children":500},{},[501],{"type":149,"value":289},{"type":149,"value":503}," technically comfortable freelancers who want control and a low monthly price.",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":505,"children":507},{"id":506},"side-by-side-comparison",[508],{"type":149,"value":509},"Side-by-side comparison",{"type":144,"tag":511,"props":512,"children":513},"table",{},[514,548],{"type":144,"tag":515,"props":516,"children":517},"thead",{},[518],{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":520,"children":521},"tr",{},[522,528,533,538,543],{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":524,"children":525},"th",{},[526],{"type":149,"value":527},"Tool",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":529,"children":530},{},[531],{"type":149,"value":532},"Entry price",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":534,"children":535},{},[536],{"type":149,"value":537},"Reminders and recurring on entry plan",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":539,"children":540},{},[541],{"type":149,"value":542},"Main entry-plan limit",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":544,"children":545},{},[546],{"type":149,"value":547},"Trial",{"type":144,"tag":549,"props":550,"children":551},"tbody",{},[552,580,607,634,660,687,713],{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":553,"children":554},{},[555,560,565,570,575],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":557,"children":558},"td",{},[559],{"type":149,"value":107},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":561,"children":562},{},[563],{"type":149,"value":564},"$23 a month (Lite)",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":566,"children":567},{},[568],{"type":149,"value":569},"Both",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":571,"children":572},{},[573],{"type":149,"value":574},"5 billed clients",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":576,"children":577},{},[578],{"type":149,"value":579},"30 days, no card",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":581,"children":582},{},[583,587,592,597,602],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":584,"children":585},{},[586],{"type":149,"value":111},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":588,"children":589},{},[590],{"type":149,"value":591},"$29 a month (Cadet); $23.25 billed yearly",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":593,"children":594},{},[595],{"type":149,"value":596},"Recurring yes; reminders not listed in the plan matrix",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":598,"children":599},{},[600],{"type":149,"value":601},"5 active projects, 1 seat",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":603,"children":604},{},[605],{"type":149,"value":606},"14 days, card required",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":608,"children":609},{},[610,614,619,624,629],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":611,"children":612},{},[613],{"type":149,"value":115},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":615,"children":616},{},[617],{"type":149,"value":618},"$25 a month (Essentials); $19 billed yearly",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":620,"children":621},{},[622],{"type":149,"value":623},"Not stated by plan",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":625,"children":626},{},[627],{"type":149,"value":628},"No invoicing on Basic",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":630,"children":631},{},[632],{"type":149,"value":633},"7 days, card not stated",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":635,"children":636},{},[637,641,646,651,656],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":638,"children":639},{},[640],{"type":149,"value":119},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":642,"children":643},{},[644],{"type":149,"value":645},"$29 a month billed yearly (Starter)",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":647,"children":648},{},[649],{"type":149,"value":650},"Both listed",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":652,"children":653},{},[654],{"type":149,"value":655},"2 lead forms, no team members",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":657,"children":658},{},[659],{"type":149,"value":579},{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":661,"children":662},{},[663,667,672,677,682],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":664,"children":665},{},[666],{"type":149,"value":123},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":668,"children":669},{},[670],{"type":149,"value":671},"$0 (Starter)",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":673,"children":674},{},[675],{"type":149,"value":676},"Pro only",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":678,"children":679},{},[680],{"type":149,"value":681},"Reminders and recurring need $19 Pro",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":683,"children":684},{},[685],{"type":149,"value":686},"Not stated",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":688,"children":689},{},[690,694,699,703,708],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":691,"children":692},{},[693],{"type":149,"value":127},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":695,"children":696},{},[697],{"type":149,"value":698},"$0",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":700,"children":701},{},[702],{"type":149,"value":569},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":704,"children":705},{},[706],{"type":149,"value":707},"500 invoices a year, 3 projects",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":709,"children":710},{},[711],{"type":149,"value":712},"Free plan",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":714,"children":715},{},[716,720,725,730,735],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":717,"children":718},{},[719],{"type":149,"value":131},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":721,"children":722},{},[723],{"type":149,"value":724},"$0 (Free), $14 (Pro)",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":726,"children":727},{},[728],{"type":149,"value":729},"Recurring yes; reminders on Pro",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":731,"children":732},{},[733],{"type":149,"value":734},"5 clients on Free",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":736,"children":737},{},[738],{"type":149,"value":739},"No paid trial stated",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":741,"children":743},{"id":742},"which-invoicing-tool-fits-how-you-bill",[744],{"type":149,"value":745},"Which invoicing tool fits how you bill?",{"type":144,"tag":511,"props":747,"children":748},{},[749,770],{"type":144,"tag":515,"props":750,"children":751},{},[752],{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":753,"children":754},{},[755,760,765],{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":756,"children":757},{},[758],{"type":149,"value":759},"If you mostly need",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":761,"children":762},{},[763],{"type":149,"value":764},"Start with",{"type":144,"tag":523,"props":766,"children":767},{},[768],{"type":149,"value":769},"Why",{"type":144,"tag":549,"props":771,"children":772},{},[773,790,807,824,841,859],{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":774,"children":775},{},[776,781,785],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":777,"children":778},{},[779],{"type":149,"value":780},"Invoices, reminders and recurring billing on the entry plan",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":782,"children":783},{},[784],{"type":149,"value":107},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":786,"children":787},{},[788],{"type":149,"value":789},"All listed on Lite, with a 30-day no-card trial",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":791,"children":792},{},[793,798,802],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":794,"children":795},{},[796],{"type":149,"value":797},"Invoices that come from an accepted proposal or tracked hours",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":799,"children":800},{},[801],{"type":149,"value":111},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":803,"children":804},{},[805],{"type":149,"value":806},"Proposals, deposits, time-to-invoice and portal share one client record",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":808,"children":809},{},[810,815,819],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":811,"children":812},{},[813],{"type":149,"value":814},"Hourly billing plus contracts",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":816,"children":817},{},[818],{"type":149,"value":115},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":820,"children":821},{},[822],{"type":149,"value":823},"Time tracking on every plan; invoicing from Essentials",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":825,"children":826},{},[827,832,836],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":828,"children":829},{},[830],{"type":149,"value":831},"Signed bookings then payment",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":833,"children":834},{},[835],{"type":149,"value":119},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":837,"children":838},{},[839],{"type":149,"value":840},"Invoices follow the proposal and contract",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":842,"children":843},{},[844,849,854],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":845,"children":846},{},[847],{"type":149,"value":848},"Occasional invoices at no cost",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":850,"children":851},{},[852],{"type":149,"value":853},"Wave or Zoho Invoice",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":855,"children":856},{},[857],{"type":149,"value":858},"Free starting plans, each with limits",{"type":144,"tag":519,"props":860,"children":861},{},[862,867,871],{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":863,"children":864},{},[865],{"type":149,"value":866},"Low monthly price and control",{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":868,"children":869},{},[870],{"type":149,"value":131},{"type":144,"tag":556,"props":872,"children":873},{},[874],{"type":149,"value":875},"Free plan, then $14 a month",{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":877,"children":879},{"id":878},"run-a-one-invoice-test",[880],{"type":149,"value":881},"Run a one-invoice test",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":883,"children":884},{},[885],{"type":149,"value":886},"Send one invoice to yourself during each trial, using a second email address as the client:",{"type":144,"tag":195,"props":888,"children":889},{},[890,895,900,905,910],{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":891,"children":892},{},[893],{"type":149,"value":894},"Create the invoice from a saved service, not from scratch.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":896,"children":897},{},[898],{"type":149,"value":899},"Add a due date 14 days out and switch on reminders.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":901,"children":902},{},[903],{"type":149,"value":904},"Open it on your phone as the client and pay part of it.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":906,"children":907},{},[908],{"type":149,"value":909},"Check that the invoice shows the partial payment and the remaining balance.",{"type":144,"tag":199,"props":911,"children":912},{},[913],{"type":149,"value":914},"Look at what the client record shows: the invoice, the payment and any messages.",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":916,"children":917},{},[918],{"type":149,"value":919},"Then set up one recurring invoice for a retainer. If you run the test, expect the reminder and partial-payment steps to separate the tools fastest; those are where basic apps often need extra setup or a paid tier.",{"type":144,"tag":921,"props":922,"children":928},"blog-illustration",{":height":923,":width":924,"alt":925,"src":926,"srcSet":927},"893","1600","A freelancer confirms a client payment on a phone beside a laptop showing an invoice marked with a check.","\u002Fimages\u002Fblog\u002Fgenerated\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-payment-follow-up.webp","\u002Fimages\u002Fblog\u002Fgenerated\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-payment-follow-up-800.webp 800w, \u002Fimages\u002Fblog\u002Fgenerated\u002Ffreelancer-invoicing-payment-follow-up.webp 1600w",[],{"type":144,"tag":172,"props":930,"children":932},{"id":931},"when-to-keep-it-simple",[933],{"type":149,"value":934},"When to keep it simple",{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":936,"children":937},{},[938,940,945,947,953],{"type":149,"value":939},"If you send a few invoices a month and a free tool covers them, you do not need a platform. Move up when you retype details between a proposal, a timer and an invoice, or when you cannot tell at a glance who is overdue. If your invoices usually follow a proposal, the ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":941,"children":942},{"href":312},[943],{"type":149,"value":944},"freelancer invoicing software page",{"type":149,"value":946}," lists what Workspace369 includes on each plan, and the broader ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":948,"children":950},{"href":949},"\u002Fblog\u002Fbest-invoice-software\u002F",[951],{"type":149,"value":952},"best invoice software guide",{"type":149,"value":954}," covers small teams. Add up the subscription, the tools you would still need and the processing fees each vendor publishes.",{"type":144,"tag":956,"props":957,"children":960},"inline-cta",{"copy":958,"title":959},"Create a client, accept a proposal, track an hour and invoice it, then pay part of it from the client portal to see the balance update.","Send a test invoice in Workspace369",[],{"type":144,"tag":145,"props":962,"children":963},{},[964,966,972],{"type":149,"value":965},"Whichever tool you trial, set up reminders on day one and add a deposit for every new client. Those habits shorten payment times more than any template. Compare current plans on the ",{"type":144,"tag":152,"props":967,"children":969},{"href":968},"\u002Fpricing\u002F",[970],{"type":149,"value":971},"pricing page",{"type":149,"value":973},".",{"title":7,"searchDepth":113,"depth":113,"links":975},[976,977,978,987,988,989,990],{"id":174,"depth":113,"text":177},{"id":185,"depth":113,"text":188},{"id":256,"depth":113,"text":259,"children":979},[980,981,982,983,984,985,986],{"id":263,"depth":117,"text":266},{"id":294,"depth":117,"text":297},{"id":361,"depth":117,"text":364},{"id":390,"depth":117,"text":393},{"id":419,"depth":117,"text":422},{"id":448,"depth":117,"text":451},{"id":477,"depth":117,"text":480},{"id":506,"depth":113,"text":509},{"id":742,"depth":113,"text":745},{"id":878,"depth":113,"text":881},{"id":931,"depth":113,"text":934},"markdown","content:blog:best-invoicing-software-for-freelancers.md","content","blog\u002Fbest-invoicing-software-for-freelancers.md","blog\u002Fbest-invoicing-software-for-freelancers","md",1792025507355]