Best home inspection software in 2026: reports, booking, billing

Six tools for home inspectors compared on price and plan limits: report writers with built-in booking, plus two options for the client and billing layer.

We make Workspace369, which is on this list. Weigh our ranking with that in mind.

Published July 30, 2026 · Updated October 19, 2026 · 9 min read

The best home inspection software starts with the report: templates, photos and delivery to the buyer and agent. Spectora, ISN, HomeGauge and Palm-Tech are built for that, and most list scheduling or payments too. Workspace369 does not write inspection reports, so it is ranked fifth, as the inbox, SMS and billing layer beside a report tool. Adding a tool to your stack? Check the cost with the free software stack cost calculator.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 15, 2026. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.

Key takeaways

  • Home inspection software is built around the report. Spectora, ISN, HomeGauge and Palm-Tech all write reports and list scheduling or payments, so most inspectors start there.
  • Spectora lists $109 a month, ISN charges per inspection ($7.25 each for the first 50 a month), HomeGauge lists $89 a month and Palm-Tech $50 per user a month.
  • Workspace369 does not write inspection reports, so it is ranked fifth: it fits as the inbox, SMS, calls and billing layer beside a report tool, with SMS and calls from Voyager ($74 a month).
  • Online booking and payment plans in Workspace369 start at Specialist ($149 a month); Voyager ($74 a month) adds the shared inbox, SMS and calls.
  • Run one real booking from request to paid invoice in each trial, including the report delivery step, and count every place you retype a detail.
What's inside?What home inspection software is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best home inspection software in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich tool fits your inspection business?Run one booking through each trialWhen a report tool is all you need
A teal magnifying glass highlights an inspection checklist above a miniature house and appointment calendar.

What home inspection software is (and what it is not)

Home inspection software is a report writer first: checklists, comment libraries, photo and video capture, and an interactive or PDF report that goes to the buyer and agent. Most of the tools here add booking, agreements and payment collection around it. It is not a general CRM or a bookkeeping package. A tool without a report writer, like Workspace369, can run the business side of an inspection company but cannot replace the report tool. The home inspection software page describes that business layer.

How we compared these tools

Also readHome inspection software hub

We compared every tool on the same five points, using only each vendor's own pricing or product page:

  1. Published price and what it is charged on (per month, per user or per inspection), as listed on October 15, 2026.
  2. Report writing: whether the tool includes a report writer.
  3. Booking and payments: online scheduling and payment collection, as the page lists them.
  4. Limits and add-ons: inspector counts, per-inspection fees and features sold separately.
  5. Trial length and card terms, or "not stated" where the page is silent.

We did not test report quality, speed, app reliability, support or integrations, and we did not use third-party ratings, review counts or reseller prices. Order reflects documented fit for an inspector who needs reports and booking, with the business-layer tools after the report tools.

The best home inspection software in 2026

1. Spectora, best for report writing with booking and payments in one subscription

Spectora lists Software at $109 a month ($1,090 a year), with additional inspectors at $99 a month. The base price covers mobile and web report writing, offline writing with sync, interactive web reports, PDF export, a client portal where buyers view reports, pay and schedule, a built-in calendar, an online scheduler and integrated payments with a QuickBooks integration. An Advanced add-on at $4 per inspection adds contact tagging and CRM, agent profiles, task management and a business dashboard. The trial is 2 free inspections with no time limit and no card required.

Limitations: Email and SMS are not part of the free trial and need a paid plan. The CRM-style tools, task management and time tracking sit in the per-inspection Advanced add-on, so a busy company pays more as volume grows. A three-inspector company on Software monthly pays $307 a month (109 + 2 x 99).

Best for: solo inspectors and small teams who want one subscription for the report, booking and payment.

2. ISN, best for per-inspection pricing with scheduling and payments

ISN charges per inspection processed through it: $7.25 each for the first 50 a month, $5.50 each for the next 51-100 and $3.75 each for the next 49 up to 150, with higher volumes handled by sales. It lists an ISN report writer with an AI comment helper and interactive reports, online scheduling with smart scheduling that suggests the right inspector, text and email reminders, and card or ACH payments, including FlexFund, which lets clients pay at closing. The trial is 30 days with no payment details.

Limitations: The page says monthly minimum fees may apply after the trial and gives no amount. Per-inspection pricing is easy to cost at 40 inspections a month (about $290 at the first tier) but harder to predict when volume swings. Payment processing rates are not shown on the page.

Best for: multi-inspector companies and offices that want scheduling and reports, and prefer paying per inspection.

3. HomeGauge, best for a desktop-friendly report writer on a monthly price

HomeGauge lists $0 to start and $89 a month after a 30-day free trial for new customers. The listed tools include a desktop report writer with a Companion app, online agreements, scheduling and payments, online report delivery and storage, and live support. You can collect information in the field and finish the report on a desktop, with your own templates and comment libraries.

Limitations: The page does not say whether the $89 covers one inspector or more, so ask before you price a team. It does not list an inbox, SMS or a client portal beyond report delivery, and it does not say whether a card is needed for the trial. The trial is for new customers only.

Best for: inspectors who like to finish reports on a desktop and want agreements, booking and payments included.

4. Palm-Tech, best for a low per-user price with every feature included

Palm-Tech lists $50 per user a month, or $500 per user a year, and says both include all of its features, free support and updates. It describes a report writer with built-in AI tools and essential business management features. A free trial link is shown, and the page does not state the trial length or whether a card is needed. Three users on the annual price cost $1,500 a year.

Limitations: The pricing page does not itemize features such as online booking, agreements or payments, so confirm what "essential business management" includes during the trial. It does not state a trial length, so ask before you start one.

Best for: inspectors who want a report writer at a predictable per-user price and will check the booking and payment details themselves.

5. Workspace369, best as the inbox, SMS and billing layer beside a report tool

Workspace369 does not write inspection reports. It has no templates, checklists or photo annotation, and this guide does not claim an integration with any report tool. Spectora, ISN, HomeGauge and Palm-Tech already list scheduling or payments, so a solo inspector using one of them may not need it. It fits an inspection company that wants a shared inbox with SMS and calls, missed-call text back, scheduling, a client portal, invoices with deposits and recurring billing, and automated payment follow-up reminders on one client record. Cadet is $29 a month; Voyager is $74 a month for two seats and adds the inbox, SMS and calls.

Workspace369 inbox for a demo contact showing an SMS thread, call and voicemail list, and Send Invoice and Book Appointment buttons

Limitations: Online booking, payment plans, expenses and AR aging start at Specialist ($149 a month for 10 seats, $119.25 billed yearly). Cadet has one seat and up to 5 active projects. Credit notes are listed as coming soon. The 14-day trial needs a card. The screenshot above is a demo record, not a customer result.

Best for: multi-inspector companies with office staff, or inspectors with repeat commercial clients, who want a client and billing layer next to their report tool.

6. HoneyBook, best for a general client-admin tool with proposals and invoices

HoneyBook lists Starter at $29 a month billed yearly, with unlimited clients and projects, invoicing, proposals and contracts. Essentials is $49 a month billed yearly and adds unlimited Scheduler sessions (Starter allows 1), automations, SMS reminders and the QuickBooks Online integration, with up to 2 team members. The trial is 30 days and the FAQ says no card is needed. It is built for service businesses in general, not for inspections.

Limitations: Starter allows two live lead forms and one scheduling session, and has no automations or SMS reminders. There is no report writer, and the page lists no inspection-specific features such as agent profiles or report delivery.

Best for: a self-employed inspector who wants proposals, contracts and invoices in a simple general tool alongside a separate report writer.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolPrice listedWrites reportsBooking and paymentsMain limitTrial
Spectora$109 a month; $1,090 a yearYesYesEmail and SMS need a paid plan; CRM tools cost extra2 free inspections, no card
ISN$7.25 per inspection (first 50 a month)YesYesMonthly minimum may apply, not stated30 days, no payment details
HomeGauge$89 a month after trialYesYesPer-inspector terms not stated30 days, card not stated
Palm-Tech$50 per user a month; $500 a yearYesNot itemizedFeatures not itemized on pageOffered, length not stated
Workspace369$29 a month (Cadet); $74 Voyager; $149 SpecialistNoBooking and payment plans from SpecialistNo report writer14 days, card required
HoneyBook$29 a month billed yearly (Starter)NoScheduler: 1 session on Starter, unlimited from EssentialsNot inspection-specific30 days, no card

Which tool fits your inspection business?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
One subscription for report, booking and paymentSpectoraReport writer, scheduler and payments on the base price
Per-inspection pricing for a larger officeISNTiered per-inspection price with smart scheduling
A desktop report writer with agreementsHomeGaugeDesktop writer, Companion app and online agreements
A report writer at a per-user pricePalm-Tech$50 per user a month, features not itemized
An inbox, SMS and billing layer beside your report toolWorkspace369Shared inbox, SMS, calls, portal and invoices; booking from Specialist
Proposals and invoices in a general toolHoneyBookStarter at $29 a month billed yearly

Run one booking through each trial

Feature lists look alike. Take one real or fictional booking from first message to paid invoice in each tool you shortlist:

  1. A buyer's agent texts to ask for a Thursday slot.
  2. Book the inspection and send the agreement.
  3. Deliver a sample report link to the buyer and the agent.
  4. Collect payment, then send a reminder for an unpaid balance.
  5. Find the whole history by searching the buyer's name.

If you run the test, expect the report tools to be strongest at steps 2 to 4 and Workspace369 to make steps 1 and 5 fast, because messages, calls and the invoice sit on one record. Count the places you retyped a detail or opened a second app.

A home inspector and client review property plans and a checklist beside appointment and messaging reminders.

When a report tool is all you need

If you are a solo inspector and your report tool already books, takes agreements and collects payment, you may not need a second system. Add a business layer when messages and calls from agents get lost, when you run several inspectors and want one inbox, or when commercial clients need recurring invoices or payment plans. Online booking and payment plans in Workspace369 start at Specialist, so compare that price with what your report tool already includes. The home inspection software page shows the full loop.

Whichever tool you trial, finish one full booking with demo data before you import real clients, and confirm you can export your records if you ever leave. Compare current plans on the pricing page.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 15, 2026.
  • Spectora pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for software prices, extra inspectors, trial terms and Advanced add-on.
  • ISN pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for per-inspection tiers, minimums and trial terms.
  • HomeGauge pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for monthly price, trial and included tools.
  • Palm-Tech pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for monthly and annual per-user prices.
  • HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for Starter and Essentials plans, limits and trial terms.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not a hands-on benchmark, and Workspace369 is ranked fifth because it does not write inspection reports.

FAQ

What is the best home inspection software?

For writing reports, a report-first tool such as Spectora, ISN, HomeGauge or Palm-Tech is the core choice. Workspace369 does not write reports; it fits as the client and billing layer beside one.

Does Workspace369 replace inspection report software?

No. Workspace369 has no report writer, templates or photo annotation. It handles the inbox, SMS and calls, scheduling, a client portal, invoices and payments around the report tool you inspect with.

How much does home inspection software cost?

On the vendor pages we checked, Palm-Tech is $50 per user a month, HomeGauge $89 a month and Spectora $109 a month. ISN charges per inspection, starting at $7.25 each for the first 50 a month.

Do inspection tools offer a free trial?

Spectora offers 2 free inspections with no time limit and no card. HomeGauge and ISN list a 30-day trial, ISN without payment details, and Palm-Tech links a trial without stating its length. Workspace369 gives 14 days with a card required.

Which plan do I need for online booking and payment plans in Workspace369?

Specialist, at $149 a month ($119.25 billed yearly) for 10 seats. Cadet and Voyager include invoices, deposits and online card payments but not online booking or payment plans.

Is there a monthly minimum with ISN?

ISN says monthly minimum fees may apply after the 30-day trial and does not state an amount. Ask for it in writing before you commit.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.