Best CRM for Copywriters in 2026: briefs, retainers, getting paid
Best CRM for copywriters: six client-work tools compared on price, plan limits, briefs, per-project and retainer billing, revision limits and getting paid.
We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.
The best CRM for copywriters keeps the brief, the agreed revision limit, the per-project or retainer price and the invoice on one client record, so a changed brief becomes a priced change instead of free work. For freelance copywriters who want that in one place, our pick is Workspace369. Plutio suits an everything-included solo plan, Moxie the lowest price, and Bonsai per-user billing. To price a monthly deal first, use the free retainer pricing calculator.
Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 22, 2026. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.
Key takeaways
- A copywriter CRM should hold the brief, the agreed revision limit, the per-project or retainer price and the invoice on one client record.
- Workspace369 Cadet at $29 a month ($23.25 billed yearly) includes proposals approved by link, deposits, recurring invoices for retainers, a client portal, time tracking and payment reminders; it is capped at 5 active projects and one seat.
- Plutio lists its core modules on every plan from $19 a month but limits Core to 9 active clients and no contributors; Moxie Starter is $12 a month with proposals and invoicing but no white-labeled portal until Pro.
- Bonsai needs Essentials ($25 a month, $19 billed yearly) for proposals, invoices and the portal; HoneyBook and Dubsado suit booking-style and form-heavy workflows.
- Run one fictional client through a mid-project audience change in each trial and check that the amended proposal and the invoice match.
What's inside?
What a CRM for copywriters is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best CRM for copywriters in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich tool fits your copywriting business?Run a mid-project scope test during the trialWhen to keep it simple
What a CRM for copywriters is (and what it is not)
A CRM for copywriters is the business side of a writing job: who the client is, what they briefed, what you quoted per project or per month, how many revision rounds you agreed, what deposit is paid and what is still owed. It is not a writing editor, and it does not check originality or manage drafts line by line. Keep Google Docs or your editor for the copy. If a tool stores contacts but leaves proposals and billing to other apps, the agreed scope lives in an email thread, and a new audience or extra interview slips in unpriced.
How we compared these tools
We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing and product pages:
- Entry price for one person, monthly and billed yearly, as listed on October 22, 2026.
- Brief-to-payment coverage on that plan: proposals or contracts, deposits or payments, projects, time tracking and invoicing.
- Retainer and reminder support: recurring invoices or retainers, and automatic payment reminders, where the vendor lists them.
- Hard limits on the entry plan: active clients, projects, seats or lead forms.
- Trial terms: length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.
We did not test speed, support or reliability, did not test any writing or review features, and did not use third-party ratings. Order reflects fit for a copywriter who sells by the project and by the month.
The best CRM for copywriters in 2026
1. Workspace369, best for copywriters who sell projects and retainers and want to get paid on time

Workspace369 holds the brief in custom fields on the client record. From there you send a proposal the client approves by public link with a deposit due on acceptance, run the job as a project with tasks, share drafts through the private client portal, log hours with time tracking and bill through invoices paid by card through Stripe. Cadet is $29 a month for one person ($23.25 billed yearly; see pricing) and includes recurring invoices for retainers plus a pre-made payment follow-up automation that emails reminders at 1, 3, 7, 14 and 30 days after the due date. File versioning is on every plan. The screenshot is a demo record, not a customer result.
Limitations: Cadet allows up to 5 active projects and one seat, which a copywriter with many small jobs can reach; moving to Voyager ($74 a month, two seats) removes the project cap. Payment plans start at Specialist ($149 a month). It does not enforce revision limits for you, so write them into the proposal. The 14-day trial needs a card.
Best for: freelance copywriters who mix per-project fees with monthly retainers and want deposits, recurring invoices and reminders handled.
2. Plutio, best for an everything-included solo plan
Plutio's pricing page lists projects, invoices, proposals, contracts, time tracking, scheduling, forms, a client portal and file storage on all plans. Core is $19 a month ($190 a year), with a 7-day trial and no card required. If you run the test below, every step is listed on Core. The question is the cap: count your active clients over the last year, because a tenth active client means moving to Pro at $49 a month. The trial itself is limited to 3 active clients, so test with a small, realistic job.
Limitations: Core is solo only with no contributors, and it is limited to 9 active clients and 500 workflow actions a month. White-label is a $9 a month add-on.
Best for: a solo copywriter with a small, steady roster who wants every module from day one.
3. Moxie, best for the lowest checked price with proposals and invoicing
Moxie Starter is $12 a month, or $10 a month billed yearly. Its pricing page lists client and project management, invoicing and payments, proposals, quotes and contracts, time tracking, a sales pipeline and meeting schedulers on Starter. The page title mentions a 14-day free trial; card terms are not stated. If you run the test, the brief-to-invoice steps are all listed on Starter, including time tracking for hourly work and a sales pipeline for leads. Check the Pro price before you plan to grow into it, since that is where the portal sits.
Limitations: the white-labeled client portal, custom domain and workflow automations start at Pro ($25 a month, $20 billed yearly), so automated follow-ups wait for the higher plan.
Best for: new copywriters who want proposals and invoices at the lowest monthly cost and can chase payments by hand.
4. Bonsai, best for hourly copy work priced per user
Bonsai prices per user: Basic is $15 a month ($9 billed yearly) and includes time tracking, tasks, a CRM and unlimited projects. Essentials, at $25 a month ($19 billed yearly), adds invoices, proposals and contracts, forms, scheduling and the client portal. The free trial runs 7 days, then you enter card details to continue. If you run the test, trial Essentials, not Basic, because Basic cannot send the proposal or the invoice.
Limitations: Proposals, contracts, invoices and the portal are not in Basic. Custom fields, client tasks and messaging and integrations start at Premium ($39 a month, $29 billed yearly).
Best for: copywriters who bill by the hour or hand work to a subcontractor and want to add seats one at a time. Check the storage and seat terms on the page before you buy.
5. HoneyBook, best for booking-style creative work
HoneyBook's pricing page lists unlimited clients and projects, proposals and contracts, invoices and payments, a client portal and a calendar on Starter at $29 a month billed yearly. It offers a 30-day trial with no card required, per its FAQ. If you run the test, expect the proposal and payment steps to feel natural; check how its projects handle a mid-job change. Essentials ($49 a month billed yearly) adds automations, SMS reminders and unlimited Scheduler sessions (Starter allows 1).
Limitations: Starter allows two live lead forms and keeps the "Powered by HoneyBook" label. HoneyBook switched its time tracker off on September 8, 2026 and restored it on September 15, and automations start at Essentials.
Best for: copywriters who sell fixed packages, such as a website copy bundle, and want inquiry-to-payment in one flow. Its 60-day money-back guarantee is stated on the pricing page.
6. Dubsado, best for form-heavy onboarding on a yearly budget
Dubsado Starter is $35 a month or $335 a year, and Premier is $55 a month or $525 a year. The trial is 21 days with full Premier access and no card required. Both plans list client portals, invoicing and payment plans, and unlimited clients and projects. If you run the test, a detailed brand-voice questionnaire is easy to build once and reuse for every new client. Additional brands are $10 a month each, and three extra users are free, which helps if you later hire an editor.
Limitations: Starter has one lead capture form and no public proposals or automated workflows; those need Premier. The pricing page does not state which plan includes contracts.
Best for: copywriters with a repeatable discovery process who are happy to build forms once.
Side-by-side comparison
| Tool | Entry price (monthly) | Billed yearly | Client portal on entry plan | Main entry-plan limit | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workspace369 | $29 (Cadet) | $23.25 a month | Yes | 5 active projects, 1 seat | 14 days, card required |
| Plutio | $19 (Core) | $190 a year | Yes | 9 active clients, solo | 7 days, no card |
| Moxie | $12 (Starter) | $10 a month | No (Pro and up) | No portal or automations | 14 days, no card |
| Bonsai | $25 (Essentials) | $19 a month | Yes (Essentials) | Basic has no invoices or portal | 7 days, card to continue |
| HoneyBook | $36 (Starter) | $29 a month (Starter) | Yes | 2 live lead forms | 30 days, no card |
| Dubsado | $35 (Starter) | $335 a year (Starter) | Yes | 1 lead form, no public proposals | 21 days, no card |
Which tool fits your copywriting business?
| If you mostly need | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Projects, retainers, deposits and reminders in one place | Workspace369 | Recurring invoices, deposits and payment follow-ups from Cadet |
| Every module for a handful of clients | Plutio | All features on Core, capped at 9 active clients |
| The cheapest plan with proposals and invoices | Moxie | $10 a month billed yearly, portal and automations later |
| Hourly billing with a subcontractor | Bonsai | Per-user pricing with time tracking in every plan |
| Fixed-package bookings | HoneyBook | Proposals, contracts and payments on Starter |
| A repeatable discovery questionnaire | Dubsado | Forms and templates, workflows on Premier |
Run a mid-project scope test during the trial
Take one fictional copy client through the whole job in each tool you shortlist:
- Record the brief, the deliverables and the revision limit, and send a proposal that states all three.
- Approve it as the "client" and collect the deposit.
- Create a project with tasks for research, draft and revisions.
- Mid-project, add a new audience and an extra interview, and send an amended proposal.
- Upload an interview file and log the client's feedback.
- Invoice the amended total and set up a monthly retainer invoice for follow-on work.
If you run the test, expect the best tool to keep the original proposal visible next to the amendment. Compare the amended total on the proposal with the invoice; any mismatch is the leak this test is built to find.

When to keep it simple
If you have two or three steady clients, a document template, a calendar and an invoice template can carry you a long way. Move to a client-work tool when briefs change mid-project without a price change, when you cannot say what you agreed three months ago, or when you chase late payments by hand. The copywriters product page shows how Workspace369 handles proposals, communications and invoices, and the pricing page has current plans.
Before importing real clients, run one full job on demo data and check that your records can be exported.
Sources reviewed for this guide
- Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 22, 2026.
- Plutio pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for client limits, features and trial terms.
- Moxie pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for Starter and Pro features.
- Bonsai pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for per-user prices and plan features.
- HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plans, lead forms and trial terms.
- Dubsado pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for yearly prices, plan limits and trial terms.
Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.
Run client follow-up in one workspace.
CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.
14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.