Best client portal software in 2026: what clients should see
The best client portal software keeps one promise: "You will never have to email me to find out where things stand." Clients log in, see their project, leave feedback and pay, and you stop writing status emails. Workspace369 fits freelancers whose portal should show projects and invoices already tracked, and it also runs as a native app for iPhone and iPad, with iPad in every orientation; SuiteDash and Clinked fit businesses that want a white-label portal first. Need an invoice to put in the portal first? Try the free invoice generator.
Seven client portal tools compared on entry price, branding, plan limits and trial terms, with a client's-eye test you can run during a trial.
We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.
Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 22, 2026. Check current plans and portal limits with each vendor before you buy.
Key takeaways
- Good client portal software answers four client questions without an email: where is my project, what do you need from me, what do I owe, and did you see my comment.
- Workspace369 fits freelancers who want the portal to read from projects and invoices they already manage; the portal is on every plan from $29 a month, and Cadet is limited to one seat.
- SuiteDash lists unlimited portals and white labeling from $19 a month billed monthly, and Clinked lists a custom URL from its Standard plan ($299 a month, or $239 a month billed yearly), so both suit portal-first businesses.
- Moxie leaves the portal to its $25 Pro plan, and Assembly lists a custom domain only from its Professional plan.
- Run a client's-eye test during each trial: log in as a demo client on your phone, find the status, comment and pay an invoice without help.
Video roundup
Watch: the best client portal software, ranked
Six client portal tools ranked on what is in the portal, what clients can do there and what it costs, with Workspace369 shown in the real app.
Chapters
- 0:00Intro
- 0:12What a client portal should answer
- 0:23#1 Workspace369 (best overall)
- 1:11Workspace369 price
- 1:26#2 SuiteDash
- 1:44#3 HoneyBook
- 2:05#4 Moxie
- 2:19#5 Assembly
- 2:35#6 Dubsado
- 2:51Full ranking and free trial
Read the full transcript
Looking for client portal software for your small business? We compared six tools on what's in the portal, what your clients can actually do there, and what it costs. Here's our ranking.
A good portal answers four client questions without an email: what do you need from me, when's my next appointment, what do I owe, and where's my proposal or contract?
Number one: Workspace369. Clients sign in to their portal with a one-time code sent to their email, so there's no password to remember.
Then they see what needs their attention first, like a proposal to review, and their upcoming appointments, which they can add to their own calendar.
Below that are their invoices, with what's outstanding and what's overdue, and their proposals and contracts, all on one private page.
Proposals go out from the same place. Clients sign online without creating an account, and once they've opened one, up to three follow-ups go out automatically, two days apart.
And when a client would rather text than log in, two-way texts and calls sit in the same conversation, on your own local number.
The portal is on every plan, from twenty-nine dollars a month. It reads from the same proposals, invoices and appointments you already work from, so it's never out of date, and the clients you invite don't take up a team seat.
Number two: SuiteDash. It starts at nineteen dollars a month with unlimited white-labeled portals. The catch is everything around them: most extra modules, called Power-Ups, cost forty to fifty dollars a month, and texting is billed separately through Twilio.
Number three: HoneyBook. Its portal is built around the booking: the proposal, the contract and the payment. Prices went up in 2025, and Starter is now thirty-six dollars a month. Starter allows two live lead forms, Essentials stops at two team members, and texting is an eight-dollar add-on.
Number four: Moxie. The entry price is twelve dollars a month, but that plan has no client portal. The portal starts on Pro, at twenty-five dollars, and the Teams plan stops at five members.
Number five: Assembly. There's a free plan, but it's capped at five active contacts and shows the Assembly badge to your clients. Paid plans start at forty-nine dollars a month, and your own domain only comes on Professional.
Number six: Dubsado. Its portal is built around intake forms. Dubsado retired its free plan in November 2025, and its Starter plan allows one active lead form and leaves out scheduling and automated workflows.
So here's the full ranking. Number one, Workspace369, best overall. Then SuiteDash for white-label portals, HoneyBook for bookings, Moxie for a low-cost project tool, Assembly for a free start, and Dubsado for form-led onboarding.
If you want a portal that shows the work you already track, with proposals, invoices and client conversations in the same place, Workspace369 is our pick. Try it free for fourteen days, and our team will help you set it up.
What's inside?
What client portal software is (and what it is not)How we compared these client portalsThe best client portal software in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich client portal fits your business?Run a client's-eye test during the trialHow to decide
What client portal software is (and what it is not)
Client portal software is a private, logged-in area where a client sees their own work: project status, tasks, files, messages and invoices. It is not a shared folder link, and it is not a public invoice page. Some tools make the portal the product, with white labeling, file libraries and custom domains. Others build it into a client-work platform so it shows the projects and invoices you already manage. The client portal for freelancers page describes the second kind in Workspace369.
Ask a client what they want and the list is short:
- Where is my project? The current stage and next deliverable.
- What do you need from me? Open tasks, approvals and questions.
- What do I owe? Invoices they can open and pay online.
- Did you see my comment? Feedback that lands on the work, not in an email thread.
- Is this private? A login that shows only their work.
How we compared these client portals
We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing and product pages:
- Entry price, as listed on October 22, 2026, and what billing period it assumes.
- Portal on the entry plan: whether the entry plan includes a client portal at all.
- Branding: white labeling or a custom domain, and which plan unlocks it.
- Hard limits on the entry plan: clients, users, storage, projects or lead forms.
- Trial terms: length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.
We did not test speed, support, security or reliability, and we did not use third-party ratings. Order reflects fit for a freelancer or small service business whose portal should show work and invoices without double entry.
The best client portal software in 2026
1. Workspace369, best for portals that show the work you already track

Workspace369 gives each client a private, branded client portal where they verify their email, follow their projects and task boards, comment, and view and pay invoices. Per its documentation, the portal draws on the same projects and invoices you manage, so there is no second system to update. The portal is on every plan, starting with Cadet at $29 a month for one seat ($23.25 billed yearly), and portal visitors do not use a team seat. The screenshot is the owner's view of a demo board, not a customer result. Payments run through online payments with Stripe. Compare plans on the pricing page.
Limitations: Cadet is one seat; Voyager ($74 a month for two seats) adds the shared inbox, SMS and calls. It is built for client work, not for hosting a white-label file vault as a product. The 14-day trial needs a card.
Best for: freelancers and small studios who want the portal to be a view of their projects and invoices, not a second system.
2. SuiteDash, best for white-label portals with many clients
SuiteDash lists START at $19 a month billed monthly ($180 a year), with unlimited portals, unlimited staff and contacts, "Extreme White Labeling" and 100 GB of file storage. THRIVE is $49 and PINNACLE is $99 a month. Its trial gives 14 days of PINNACLE features and says no credit card is needed. If you run the client's-eye test, expect to spend setup time, since it covers CRM, files, billing and marketing tools in one system.
Limitations: the pricing page does not say which plan includes invoicing, and marketing autoresponders are paid-plan only. A branded domain is mentioned only in the PINNACLE trial FAQ, so confirm it for START.
Best for: agencies and consultancies that want a branded portal for many clients and will invest in setup. Already on SuiteDash? The SuiteDash switching guide lists what moves and what doesn't.
3. Clinked, best for secure file sharing under your own URL
Clinked lists Start Up at $11 per user a month (1 to 25 users, 2 GB storage), Standard at $299 a month and Premium at $599 a month on monthly billing; yearly billing lowers them to $239 and $479 a month. Standard adds your own domain; Premium adds white-label email notifications. The portal centers on file sharing and messaging for teams working with clients. The site does not list invoicing.
Limitations: Start Up has no custom URL and only 2 GB of storage. Standard shows a trial button, but the pricing page does not state the trial length or whether a card is needed.
Best for: teams exchanging many documents with clients who need a branded, controlled space.
4. Assembly, best for a free start with a handful of clients
Its pricing page lists a free plan with 5 active contacts and 3 apps, billing and payments on the free plan, and Starter at $29 a month billed annually or $49 monthly (50 active contacts). Custom domains and badge removal start on Professional. If you run the client's-eye test, the free plan lets you check the client login before paying.
Limitations: the free plan is limited to 5 active contacts and community support; Free and Starter show the Assembly badge and no custom domain. Professional and Advanced prices could not be read on the page on October 22, 2026, so they are not quoted here.
Best for: solo consultants with a few clients who want to try a branded login at no cost.
5. HoneyBook, best for bookings that end in a signed, paid project
HoneyBook includes a client portal on all three plans: Starter at $29 a month, Essentials at $49 and Premium at $109 when billed yearly ($36, $59 and $129 billed monthly). It offers a 30-day trial and says no credit card is required. The portal sits inside a booking flow of inquiry, proposal and payment.
Limitations: Starter allows two live lead forms, and Essentials is limited to two team members. The portal follows the booking, so task-level project tracking is lighter than in a project tool. Essentials adds a scheduler, automations and removal of the "Powered by HoneyBook" label, which matters if the portal should look like your own brand.
Best for: creative and event businesses whose clients mostly sign, pay and check in.
6. Moxie, best for a low-cost plan with a white-labeled portal later
Moxie lists Starter at $12 a month ($10 billed yearly) without a client portal. Pro is $25 a month ($20 billed yearly) and includes a white-labeled portal with unlimited project collaborators; Teams is $40 a month ($32 yearly) for up to five team members. It advertises a 14-day trial and does not state whether a card is needed. Pro also adds support ticketing, workflow automations, API integrations and a custom domain.
Limitations: the portal is not on Starter, so the entry price is not the portal price. Teams is capped at five team members, so a larger studio would outgrow it, and the page does not describe what the white-labeled portal looks like to a client.
Best for: freelancers who want a portal plus project and finance tools at $20 a month billed yearly.
7. Dubsado, best for onboarding that starts with detailed forms
Dubsado lists Starter at $335 a year ($35 a month on the monthly plan) and Premier at $525 a year ($55 monthly), with a client portal on both. The trial is 21 days with full Premier access and no card. Its strength is intake forms and workflow before a portal visit. Premier adds scheduling, automated workflows, public proposals and unlimited lead capture forms, and extra team users are priced separately: three are included, then $25 a month for 4 to 10 users.
Limitations: Starter allows one active lead capture form and leaves out scheduling, automated workflows and public proposals.
Best for: coaches and service providers who want structured onboarding forms feeding a portal.
Side-by-side comparison
| Tool | Entry price | Portal on entry plan | Main entry-plan limit | Branding | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workspace369 | $29 a month ($23.25 yearly) | Yes | 1 seat, unlimited projects | Branded portal | 14 days, card required |
| SuiteDash | $19 a month ($180 a year) | Yes | 100 GB storage | Extreme White Labeling | 14 days, no card |
| Clinked | $11 per user a month | Yes | 2 GB storage, no custom URL | Custom URL from Standard | Not stated |
| Assembly | Free; Starter $29 yearly | Yes | 5 active contacts on Free | Custom domain from Professional | Free plan; card not stated |
| HoneyBook | $29 a month, billed yearly | Yes | 2 live lead forms | Not stated | 30 days, no card |
| Moxie | $12 a month ($10 yearly) | No (Pro, $25) | No portal on Starter | White-labeled on Pro | 14 days, no card |
| Dubsado | $335 a year ($35 monthly) | Yes | 1 lead form | Not stated | 21 days, no card |
Which client portal fits your business?
| If you mostly need | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A portal that shows projects and invoices you already track | Workspace369 | One record feeds the portal from Cadet |
| A white-label portal for many clients | SuiteDash | Unlimited portals and white labeling on START |
| Secure file exchange under your own URL | Clinked | Custom URL from Standard |
| A free trial run with a few clients | Assembly | Free plan with 5 active contacts |
| Signed, paid bookings for a creative business | HoneyBook | Portal on every plan, 30-day trial |
| A low-cost portal inside a project tool | Moxie | White-labeled portal on Pro |
| Form-led onboarding | Dubsado | Portal on both plans |
Run a client's-eye test during the trial
Most portal demos are shown from the owner's side. Test it from the other side:
- Create a demo client with one project, three tasks and one invoice.
- Invite yourself as that client, using a second email address.
- Log in as the client on your phone and find the project status without help.
- Leave a comment on a task and check where it shows up for you.
- Pay the invoice and confirm the payment is recorded on your side.
- Check what the client cannot see: other clients, internal notes, your prices for other work.
If any step needs an explanation, your real clients will email you instead of using the portal. Portal pricing also hides in three places: whether each client counts as a paid user, how many clients or projects a plan allows, and whether branding costs extra. Ask every vendor those three questions.

How to decide
Count the status emails you sent last month. If it was a handful, a public invoice link and a shared folder may be enough. If it was dozens, give clients a portal. Choose one that reads from the project and invoice you already keep so it never goes stale, or a dedicated tool if file exchange or white labeling is the point. Compare current Workspace369 plans on the pricing page.
Sources reviewed for this guide
- Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 22, 2026.
- SuiteDash pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plan prices, portals, storage and trial terms.
- Clinked pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plan prices, users, storage and custom URL.
- Assembly pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for the free plan, Starter price and custom domain.
- HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plans, portal, lead forms and trial terms.
- Moxie pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for Starter, Pro and Teams portal access.
- Dubsado pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for yearly prices, portal and trial terms.
Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.
Run client follow-up in one workspace.
CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.
14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.
See pricing