Best Salon Software in 2026

Six salon systems compared on staff pay tools, retail stock, extra locations and monthly cost for a five-chair salon, plus a Saturday-rush test for the trial.

We make Workspace369, which is on this list. Weigh our ranking with that in mind.

Published July 27, 2026 · Updated October 20, 2026 · 10 min read

Best salon software, for a shop that sells hair, nails and beauty services under one roof, is the system that runs the whole building: the front desk, what each stylist earns, the retail shelf and a second site if you open one. This guide ranks six salon systems on those jobs, then says where Workspace369 (the salon and spa software page) fits. Chair-level detail sits in the hair salon and nail salon guides. To size a booking deposit first, try the free deposit calculator.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options; we rank it last of seven. It is a documentation-based comparison, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 20, 2026. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.

Key takeaways

  • A multi-service salon needs more than a booking page: staff pay or commission tools, retail stock and a path to a second location decide whether a system lasts.
  • For five bookable staff at one location, listed monthly prices run from $49 (Square Plus) to $170 (Mangomint, one location plus five users); Boulevard Essentials is $159 and covers up to 5 providers.
  • Boulevard names commission tracking, commission reports, purchase orders and multi-location support on its pricing page; Fresha Team lists commissions, wages, pay runs and timesheets at $14.95 per bookable team member.
  • GlossGenius lists customizable commissions only on Platinum ($168 monthly, $148 billed yearly); Gold ($56, $48) covers staff management and time tracking for teams under 10.
  • Workspace369 is a client-work workspace, not a salon system. Its plan matrix lists no point of sale, packages, memberships or commission tools, so it ranks last of seven here.
What's inside?What salon software is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best salon software in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich salon software fits your shop?Run a Saturday-rush test during the trialKeep the salon system and the client-work record apartWhen to keep it simple
An oval salon mirror frames a styling chair beside scissors and an appointment calendar.

What salon software is (and what it is not)

Salon software is the operating system of a service shop. It takes online bookings, checks people out, records what each stylist is owed, counts the retail stock and reports on the week. It is not an accounting package, a marketing agency or a project tool for one-off events. A system that handles the front desk but leaves commissions on a spreadsheet only moves the work to Sunday night.

A salon professional and client review an appointment book and service paperwork beside payment and product supplies.

How we compared these tools

Also readSalon & spa software hub

Every tool was scored on the same five checks, using only its own pricing page as read in a headless browser on October 20, 2026, with every billing toggle and staff selector clicked:

  1. Staff pay tools: commission tracking, wages or payroll, and whether they sit in a listed plan or cost extra.
  2. Retail stock: a product catalog and inventory counts on the entry plan.
  3. More locations: whether a second site is listed and how its price repeats.
  4. Price for five bookable staff at one location: monthly, and billed yearly where the page shows it.
  5. Trial terms: length and whether a card is mentioned.

Order follows check 1: commission tracking named on every listed plan ranks first (Boulevard), then commission tracking or wages on a listed paid tier (Fresha, Square, GlossGenius), then tools that name no commissions (Mangomint, Vagaro); ties go to checks 2 and 3. Promotional rates, such as Boulevard's fall pricing and Vagaro's first-six-months rate, were ignored. We did not test speed, support, the mobile apps or payment-processing reliability, and we did not use third-party ratings.

The best salon software in 2026

1. Boulevard, best for staff pay, retail and multi-location in one listed plan

Boulevard's pricing page lists Essentials at $159 a month ($143 on the Annually view) for one location and up to 5 providers, Premier at $325 ($293) per location with unlimited professionals, and Prestige at $455 ($410) with a forms add-on included. Its comparison table marks commission tracking, commission reports, a timeclock, a product catalog, shrinkage reporting, purchase orders, memberships and series and packages on all three plans. Multi-location support and reporting start at Premier.

Limitations: there is no self-serve trial on the page, only a demo request. Forms and charts are a paid add-on on Essentials and Premier, automated campaigns cost $2 per completed appointment, and the page lists no payroll product. At $159 it is near the top of the range for a five-chair shop, second only to Mangomint at $170.

Best for: established multi-service salons that want commissions, stock and a second site covered in one system and will pay for it.

2. Fresha, best for the lowest price with commissions and pay runs in the plan

Fresha charges $14.95 per bookable team member a month on Team and $19.95 on Independent (one person). The Team column, read by icon, lists sales commissions, wages, pay runs, timesheets, shift scheduling and login permissions; Independent shows a dash for each except shift scheduling. Both list retail and inventory, packages, memberships, resources and multiple business locations. The page shows no yearly view.

Limitations: a new client who finds you through the Fresha marketplace carries a one-time 20% fee, minimum $6. Texts beyond 100 free per team member cost $0.02 each, and Insights reports are a $9.95 per bookable member add-on. The FAQ describes a 7-day trial and says no card for teams.

Best for: salons of two to twenty chairs that want staff pay tools without a large monthly bill and do not mind marketplace fees.

3. Square Appointments, best for salons already taking cards on Square

Square lists Free at $0, Plus at $49 and Premium at $149 per location a month. Its embedded plan flags put unlimited calendars, online booking, reminders and deposits on Free. Plus adds tip pooling and commissions tracking, timecards, shift scheduling, inventory tracking, multi-location management, waitlist, multi-staff booking, a rewards program and class booking and packages. Premium adds resource management, a future bookings report and a team performance report.

Limitations: the price repeats per location. Square Payroll is separate, from $35 a month plus $6 per person paid. Plus and Premium offer a 30-day trial; the page gives no yearly view.

Best for: one to three chairs, or growing shops, that want commissions and stock at the lowest listed monthly price and already use Square for payments.

4. GlossGenius, best for solo or small teams that grow into Gold

GlossGenius lists Standard at $28 a month ($24 billed yearly), Gold at $56 ($48) for up to 9 staff, and Platinum at $168 ($148) for 10 or more. Reading the table by icon, Standard has no staff management, time tracking or waitlist; Gold adds them, plus forms and resource management. Customizable commissions are Platinum only, though a commissions report appears on every plan. Inventory and retail management and multi-location support are on all plans, with each extra location charged the plan price at a 15% discount.

Limitations: Payroll is a $40 a month plus $6 per seat add-on. A 14-day trial needs no card.

Best for: one to nine stylists who want modern branding and simple tiers, and who can live without custom commissions until Platinum.

5. Mangomint, best for a flat per-location price with everything switched on

Mangomint charges $120 per location plus $10 per user a month, and anyone with a profile, including front desk staff, counts as a user. Included features are calendar, point of sale, online booking, memberships and packages, forms and charting, retail and inventory, staff management, reporting and multi-location. Unlimited text and email reminders cost nothing. Add-ons are Phone at $70 a line, marketing from $30 and Payroll at $50 plus $8 per worker.

Limitations: the pricing page does not name commission tracking, so confirm it in a demo. Express Booking, cards on file and deposits need Mangomint's own payment processing. A free trial is offered, but its length is not stated.

Best for: salons that value a polished front desk and want one price with no feature tiers.

6. Vagaro, best for a low per-calendar price with a built-in marketplace

Vagaro's price follows the staff selector: $30 a month for Just Me, then $10 for each added bookable calendar up to seven, so $70 at five and $90 at 7+. The page shows no yearly view, and the $23.99 first-six-months rate is a promotion, not the price. Every plan lists inventory tracking, memberships, packages and gift certificates, invoices, advanced reporting, 1,000 free emails and unlimited reminders. Commissions are named only in the site menu's Payroll description (custom commission tiers and direct deposit), and the pricing page shows no payroll price. Multi-location is by sales contact.

Limitations: a 30-day trial is described in the pricing-page FAQ, which does not say whether a card is needed.

Best for: solo and small teams that want a cheap start and a marketplace listing, and will ask sales about payroll.

7. Workspace369, best as a client-work record beside a salon system

Workspace369 is not salon software. Its plan matrix lists no point of sale, packages, memberships, gift cards or commission tools, and online booking starts at Specialist ($149 a month, $119.25 billed yearly, 10 seats). It does list a client portal, Proposals and contracts with deposits, invoices, SMS from Voyager, a product catalog (up to 20 on Cadet) and inventory tracking from Specialist, and timesheets on every plan. Cadet is $29 a month ($23.25 billed yearly) for one user; Voyager is $74 ($59.25) with 2 seats and $10 for each added seat.

Workspace369 demo client profile with projects, invoices and documents tabs

Limitations: a five-person shop is $104 a month on Voyager with three added seats, before any checkout tool. The 14-day trial needs a card. Every other tool above is built for the register and the commission sheet.

Best for: a salon owner who also sells bridal parties or events and wants Proposals, deposits and invoices on one record beside a salon system.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolPlan priced (5 bookable staff)MonthlyBilled yearlyStaff pay and retail stock at that planTrial
BoulevardEssentials (up to 5 providers)$159$143 a monthCommission tracking and reports; catalog, purchase ordersDemo only
FreshaTeam, 5 members$74.75Not shownCommissions, wages, pay runs, timesheets; retail and inventory7 days
Square AppointmentsPlus, 1 location$49Not shownCommissions tracking, timecards; inventory tracking30 days
GlossGeniusGold (up to 9 staff)$56$48 a monthTime tracking, inventory; custom commissions need Platinum14 days, no card
Mangomint1 location, 5 users$170Not shownStaff management, retail and inventory; payroll add-onFree trial, length not stated
Vagaro5 calendars$70Not shownInventory tracking; payroll price not shown30 days, card not stated
Workspace369Voyager plus 3 seats$104$59.25 base + 3 seats at $10 a monthNo commissions or retail checkout; inventory from Specialist14 days, card required

Which salon software fits your shop?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
Commissions, retail and a second site in one planBoulevardCommission tracking and reports, purchase orders, multi-location at Premier
The lowest cost with wages and pay runsFresha$14.95 per bookable member with staff pay rows in Team
Cheap commissions on a Square registerSquare AppointmentsPlus is $49 per location with commissions tracking and inventory
A solo start that can grow to nine staffGlossGeniusStandard $24 yearly, Gold $48 yearly for teams under 10
One flat price with no feature tiersMangomint$120 per location and $10 per user
A low per-calendar priceVagaro$30 for one calendar, $10 for each added one
Bridal or event work beside the chairsWorkspace369Proposals, deposits and invoices on one client record

Run a Saturday-rush test during the trial

Use demo data in each system you shortlist, and rebuild one busy Saturday:

  1. Book a color service with a processing gap and a second stylist for the finish.
  2. Add a walk-in that pushes the afternoon back by twenty minutes.
  3. Sell a retail product and check the shelf count drops.
  4. Mark one no-show and see what the policy charges.
  5. Split a tip between two stylists and open the commission report.
  6. Close the day and compare the report with the cash drawer.

The best tool keeps the booking, the sale, the stock and the stylist's pay on one record without retyping. If step 5 means a spreadsheet, that is the leak this test exists to find.

Keep the salon system and the client-work record apart

Your salon system should own the register, the stock and the stylist's pay. If you also take on bridal parties, rentals or corporate events, those are projects with approvals and deposits, which a chair-based calendar handles poorly. In that case keep the booking and checkout in the salon tool and run the project side in Workspace369, where scheduling and Workflow Automations can send reminders, with email automations on every plan.

When to keep it simple

A single chair with a few regulars can run on a free booking page and a card reader. Move to a full system when a second stylist needs commissions, when retail stock stops matching the shelf, or when you cannot say who owes what at the end of the week. The pricing page lists current Workspace369 plans if you want the event side too.

Before you migrate real clients, rebuild one Saturday on demo data and confirm that your client list can be exported.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Boulevard pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 on both the Monthly and Annually views for Essentials, Premier and Prestige list prices and the plan comparison table, read by icon. Fall promotional rates were not used.
  • Fresha pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for Independent and Team prices, marketplace fees, staff-pay rows (read by icon) and the FAQ.
  • Square Appointments pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for Free, Plus and Premium prices, the embedded tier flags and the free-trial FAQ.
  • Mangomint pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for the per-location and per-user prices, add-ons, FAQ and FAQPage markup.
  • GlossGenius pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 on the Monthly and Annual views, with the comparison table read by icon class, plus add-ons, the multi-location footnote and trial wording.
  • Vagaro pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for the Just Me to 7+ staff prices, included features and the multi-location FAQ. The first-six-months rate was not used.
  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 20, 2026 for seats, online booking, inventory, SMS reminders and trial terms.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options; we rank it last of seven for this reader. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is the best salon software?

For a multi-service salon that wants staff pay tools, retail stock and room to add a location, Boulevard has the broadest documented list, Fresha is the cheapest with wages and pay runs in the plan, and Square Plus is the lowest-cost route if you already take card payments with Square. Compare all three at your own staff count.

How much does salon software cost for five stylists?

On the pricing pages we read, five bookable staff at one location come to about $49 a month on Square Plus, $56 on GlossGenius Gold, $70 on Vagaro, $75 on Fresha Team, $159 on Boulevard Essentials and $170 on Mangomint. Payroll, texting and payment processing are extra.

Do I need payroll built into my salon software?

Not always. Commission tracking and reports show what each stylist earned; running payroll is a separate job. Mangomint, GlossGenius and Square sell payroll as an add-on, while Fresha Team lists wages and pay runs inside the plan.

Can salon software handle retail products?

Yes, most of the tools here list retail stock. Boulevard lists a product catalog, shrinkage reporting and purchase orders, GlossGenius lists inventory and low stock alerts on every plan, and Square starts inventory tracking at Plus.

What changes when I open a second location?

Pricing usually repeats per location. Square charges per location, Mangomint adds $120 per location plus $10 for each user there, Boulevard starts multi-location support at Premier, and GlossGenius charges each extra location the plan price at a 15% discount.

Is Workspace369 salon software?

No. Workspace369 has no point of sale, packages, memberships or commission tools. It suits a salon owner who also takes on bridal or event work and wants Proposals, contracts, deposits and invoices on one client record beside a salon system.

How should I test a salon system before switching?

Rebuild one busy Saturday with demo data: a color service with a processing gap, a walk-in, a retail sale, a no-show and a tip split between two stylists. Check that nothing is retyped and that the end-of-day report adds up.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.