Best CRM for Hair Salons in 2026

Best CRM for hair salons: five salon platforms and Workspace369 compared on published price, long-service scheduling, rent and commission tools, trial terms.

We make Workspace369, which is on this list. Weigh our ranking with that in mind.

Published September 29, 2026 · Updated October 26, 2026 · 12 min read

The best CRM for hair salons is usually a salon platform: Boulevard for long colour services with commission tracking, Mangomint for salons that rent chairs, Vagaro for a headcount-based price, GlossGenius for a small stylist-owned studio and Squire for barbershops. Workspace369 fits only bridal and event work that needs proposals, deposits and invoices.

Before you set a booking deposit, try the free deposit calculator. Workspace369 (see its hair salons page) sits sixth of six here, since it lacks a till and any commission or rent tools. For the barber side, see the best CRM for barbershops.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and competes in it, so treat the ranking with care: we placed ourselves last for a salon owner. The work is a desk review of published vendor pages, with no hands-on testing. Vendor pages were reviewed on October 26, 2026, and terms change, so confirm before paying.

Key takeaways

  • Hair is booked in long, multi-step blocks (consult, colour, processing, cut, finish), so a platform that models processing time and keeps a client record per stylist usually beats a general client-work tool.
  • Boulevard lists processing and finishing times, client-specific durations and prices, and commission tracking, from $143 a month on annual billing ($159 monthly) for up to 5 providers, with a demo rather than a free trial.
  • Mangomint charges $120 per location plus $10 per user and says it supports booth renter and hybrid models, but any renter on your account counts as a user. Its trial has no time limit and needs no card.
  • Vagaro runs from $30 a month for one person to $90 for seven or more, GlossGenius from $28 to $168 by plan, and Squire charges a flat fee per shop (Independent $30 for individual barbers, Pro $50, Executive $150, Titan $250) with commission and rent collection on Executive.
  • Workspace369 has no point of sale, packages, gift cards, memberships, commission or rent tools in its plan matrix, and online booking starts at Specialist ($149 a month), so we rank it last of six.
What's inside?What a hair salon CRM is, and what it is notHow we compared these toolsThe best CRM for hair salons in 2026Side-by-side comparisonMatch the tool to your salonWorkspace369 in action for a bridal party bookingRun a colour-correction test during the trialKeep checkout and formulas in a salon platformWhen to keep it simple
A salon mirror beside a hairstyle book and color swatches.

What a hair salon CRM is, and what it is not

In a hair business the CRM is the record behind the chair: the client, the stylist they trust, what was mixed last time, how long the work really takes and who is overdue to come back. A salon platform wraps that file in an online book, card payments, retail and staff pay. A general client-work tool keeps contacts, proposals and invoices but has no chair calendar, no till and no payout logic. Decide first whether your trouble is the daily book, the money split between stylists and renters, or a few large wedding and event jobs. Each points to a different tool.

How we compared these tools

Also readCRM for hair salons

We put the same five questions to each tool, answering them from its own pricing pages (and, for Mangomint's trial, its own trial post) on October 26, 2026:

  1. Price at a stated size: the monthly cost for a solo stylist, three chairs and five chairs, after clicking each headcount or billing toggle the page offers.
  2. Long-service scheduling: processing or gap time, client-specific durations, deposits and no-show rules, and the plan they sit on.
  3. Chair and booth money: commission tracking, rent collection, renter payment accounts and payroll.
  4. Client record: forms, charting or notes where a colour formula could live, and rebooking prompts.
  5. Trial terms: how long it runs, and what the page says about a card.

Left out: speed, support, uptime, mobile apps, how any tool actually stores a colour formula, third-party ratings and promotional rates. Ranking follows documented fit for a salon with several stylists and some renters, not the cheapest price. Workspace369 falls last on points 3 and 4.

The best CRM for hair salons in 2026

1. Boulevard, best for long, multi-step services with commission tracking

Boulevard publishes list prices: Essentials at $143 a month on the Annually view ($159 on Monthly) for up to 5 providers on one location, Premier at $293 ($325) per location with unlimited professionals, and Prestige at $410 ($455). Its fall promotional rates are shown beside Premier and Prestige; we did not use them. Every plan lists online booking, booking deposits, a waitlist, processing and finishing times, multi-staff appointments, client-specific prices and durations, series and packages, memberships, gift cards and commission tracking.

Limitations: the pricing page names no free trial, only a demo request. Forms and charts are an add-on on Essentials and Premier (the forms add-on starts at $65 a month per location) and included in Prestige. Multi-location support starts at Premier. The page does not use the word formula, so test how a colour record is stored.

Best for: a multi-chair salon that sells colour and treatment blocks with gaps in them and wants commission reporting built in.

2. Mangomint, best for a salon that rents out chairs

Mangomint states one rule: $120 a month per location plus $10 a month per user, so one location with 3 users is $150 and with 5 users is $170. The page lists scheduling, payments and point of sale, online booking, memberships and packages, forms and charting, gift cards, retail and inventory, staff management and reporting in that price. Its FAQ says it supports booth renter and hybrid models with unique booking links, multiple payment accounts, client ownership settings and renters selling their own products under one account. There are no contracts.

Limitations: every renter counts as a user, so ten renters add $100 a month. Its trial post says the trial has no time limit and needs no card, and you start paying when you launch. Phone ($70 a month per line), marketing (from $30) and payroll ($50 plus $8 per worker) are add-ons, and several features need Mangomint Payments. No yearly price is shown.

Best for: an owner who rents chairs to independent stylists and wants separate payment accounts under one login.

3. Vagaro, best for a headcount-based price with rent collection

The price follows team size: $30 a month for just you, $40 for two people, $50 for three, $70 for five and $90 at seven or more, each read after selecting that count. Each extra bookable calendar costs $10, up to seven. A discounted first-six-months figure appears beside each price and is left out here. All plans list booking through Vagaro, Instagram, Facebook and Apple Maps, resource scheduling, waitlist options, memberships, packages, gift certificates, repeat-customer programs, inventory, invoices, unlimited reminders and client data and notes. The site also lists a rent collection feature that schedules recurring rent and fees and deducts commission from rent. Its FAQ gives a 30-day free trial with every feature except email and text marketing.

Limitations: rent collection appears beside payroll in the pricing page's multi-location block and in the feature menu, not in the plan list, so it is not tied to a price; the pricing page also says nothing on a card for the trial. Past seven people the price stays at $90. It lists many business types, so nothing on the page is hair-specific.

Best for: a two-to-six chair salon, or a mixed salon with renters, that wants a predictable price and a long feature list.

4. GlossGenius, best for a branded booking site with plan-based pricing

GlossGenius sells three plans, each read on both billing views: Standard $28 monthly or $24 on Annual, Gold $56 or $48, Platinum $168 or $148. Standard carries a branded booking website, unlimited client notifications, email and text marketing, retail inventory, packages and memberships. Gold, aimed at up to 9 staff, adds forms and waivers, Google booking, a waitlist that fills itself, time tracking and room and resource management. Platinum lists customizable commissions. Its comparison table also marks gap time, processing time, built-in deposits, no-show policies and automated rebooking prompts on all three plans. The trial is 14 days with no card.

Limitations: Standard has no separate bank accounts for booth renters and no Rebooking Reminders; both start at Gold ($56). Forms and waivers also sit on Gold, customizable commissions on Platinum ($168), and payroll is a $40 add-on plus $6 per seat.

Best for: a small stylist-owned studio that wants a polished booking site, a rebooking nudge and a flat price per plan rather than per head.

5. Squire, best for a barbershop that wants one flat fee

Squire lists four tiers: Independent at $30 a month for individual barbers, Pro at $50 for single-location shops, Executive at $150 per shop and Titan at $250 per shop for multi-location brands. Its FAQ says the fee is flat per shop regardless of how many barbers you have. Pro adds multiple barber accounts, a waitlist and promo codes, and its card lists Google and Instagram booking (the compare table marks that integration absent on Pro, so confirm); Executive adds unlimited email and text marketing, a Google reviews booster and commission and rent collection. Online booking, no-show protection and reminders are on every plan. A 14-day free trial is listed.

Limitations: it is built for barbershops, so the page shows no colour, processing-time or formula features for a hair salon. The page does not say whether the trial needs a card.

Best for: a barbershop or men's grooming shop with several chairs that wants rent and commission collection at a fixed monthly price.

6. Workspace369, best for bridal and event work when the salon runs elsewhere

Workspace369 keeps the client record, a proposal that collects a deposit on acceptance, contracts with e-signature, the client portal and invoices together, a better match for a wedding party or an on-set styling day than for a Tuesday colour. Cadet is $29 a month for one user ($23.25 billed yearly) and lists public intake forms, custom fields, saved payment methods, retainers and payment schedules, recurring invoices, optional add-on line items and email appointment reminders. The screenshot below is demo data, not a salon result.

Workspace369 demo client profile with projects, invoices and documents tabs

Limitations: its matrix lists no till, packages, gift cards, memberships, commission tracking, rent collection or payroll, and no colour-formula record. Custom fields come with every plan, so a formula could sit in a text field, but there is no mixing log. Specialist ($149 a month, or $119.25 billed yearly, with 10 seats) is where online booking, buffer-time rules, payment plans and inventory begin. Cadet allows one user and 5 active projects; Voyager ($74 a month, $59.25 yearly) gives two seats and SMS. The 14-day trial runs on Cadet through Commander, card required.

Who should not pick it: any salon with walk-ins, rented chairs, counter retail or a daily book to run. Boulevard, Mangomint, Vagaro and GlossGenius pair booking with card payments or a till; this matrix has no equivalent.

Best for: a stylist whose chair is booked in another tool and who wants wedding-party proposals, deposits and invoices together.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolPlan pricedMonthlyBilled yearlyChair and long-service features at that planLimitsTrial
BoulevardEssentials$159$143 a monthProcessing and finishing times, client-specific durations, commission tracking, depositsUp to 5 providers; forms and charts add-onDemo; no trial named
Mangomint1 location, 1 user$130Not shownForms and charting, memberships, packages, booth renter support$10 per user, renters countNo time limit, no card
Vagaro1 person$30Not shownWaitlist, memberships, packages, gift certificates, inventory$50 for 3, $70 for 5, $90 for 7+30 days; card not stated
GlossGeniusStandard$28$24 a monthGap and processing time, booking site, packages and memberships; forms, booth-renter accounts and Rebooking Reminders on Gold ($56)Gold suits up to 9 staff; Platinum $16814 days, no card
SquirePro$50Not shownWaitlist, multiple barber accounts; rent and commission on Executive ($150)Flat per shop; barbershop focus14 days; card not stated
Workspace369Cadet$29$23.25 a monthIntake forms, deposits, portal; no till, packages or commission toolsOne user, 5 active projects; booking from Specialist ($149)14 days, Cadet through Commander, card required

Match the tool to your salon

Your main needStart withWhy
Colour blocks with processing gaps and commission reportsBoulevardLists processing and finishing times and commission tracking on every plan
Chair renters with their own payment accountsMangomintStates booth renter and hybrid support under one account
A predictable price for two to seven peopleVagaroPrice steps by headcount and caps at $90
A branded booking site with a rebooking nudgeGlossGeniusBooking site on Standard; the Rebooking Reminders row starts at Gold
A barbershop with a flat fee and rent collectionSquireOne fee per shop, commission and rent on Executive
Bridal and event proposals with depositsWorkspace369Deposit on acceptance, contracts, portal and invoices on Cadet

Workspace369 in action for a bridal party booking

For a wedding morning, the job is one project and one invoice, not a chair on the daily book. The first screenshot is the Workspace369 projects board in a demo workspace with sample data, with Planning, In Progress and On Hold columns and project cards showing progress, budget and a day count. A booking like "Bride plus four, trial run and wedding day" would sit there as one card, with the hair trial and the on-site morning as its tasks. On Cadet up to 5 projects can be active at once.

Workspace369 demo projects board with Planning, In Progress and On Hold columns and project cards showing progress, budget and a day count

The deposit comes first. You send the party a proposal with the per-head prices and optional add-ons such as extra trial runs, and the deposit is taken when the bride accepts. The second screenshot, also demo data, is the invoice editor with a live preview: it shows a partly paid invoice with the paid amount taken off the total and a Pay Now button for the balance. That is how the wedding-day balance would look after the deposit. The signed contract and the invoices sit on the same client record, and the bride can view and pay her invoices in the client portal.

Workspace369 demo invoice editor with billing details, one line item and a live preview of a partly paid invoice with a Pay Now button

The demo workspace is not a salon. Workspace369 has no chair calendar with processing gaps, no colour-formula record, no till and no commission or rent split. Splitting the balance into instalments (the Payment Plan tab in the screenshot) starts at Specialist.

Run a colour-correction test during the trial

Take one fictional client through each shortlisted tool:

  1. Create the client and book a three-hour correction with a gap while the colour processes.
  2. Take a deposit and set a late-cancellation rule.
  3. Save a formula and a before photo, then open the record as a second stylist.
  4. Book the toner visit six weeks out and see what reminder the client receives.
  5. Sell one retail product at checkout and split the tip between two stylists.
  6. If you rent chairs, run a renter's sale and check it lands in their account, not yours.

A good tool carries the formula, the timing and the payment from one visit to the next with no retyping. A second stylist who cannot see the formula, or a processing gap that blocks the book, is the failure this test exists to catch.

Two paper figures exchange a client document beside scissors, comb and salon mirror.

Keep checkout and formulas in a salon platform

Counter sales, chair rent and the colour history belong in the platform that runs the book. Should you add Workspace369 for wedding parties and events, hold the proposal, deposit and invoice on its client record and leave daily bookings where they are. Every plan versions files such as style references, and webhooks and the API begin at Specialist for connecting another system. Confirm you can export your records before committing to any tool.

When to keep it simple

A solo stylist or a single renter with a steady book can run on a booking page, a card reader and a notes app. Move to a salon platform when a second stylist joins, when a colour service needs a processing gap, or when you cannot say who owes rent this month. For event work, the hair salons product page covers communications, contracts and payments. Current plans are on the pricing page, and Workflow Automations handle follow-ups and late-payment nudges, with email steps on every plan.

Run one full booking on demo data in every tool you shortlist before importing a single real client.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 26, 2026 for seats, online booking, reminders, deposits, payment plans, custom fields, products and inventory, and trial terms. The matrix lists no point of sale, packages, gift cards, memberships, commission or rent tools.
  • Boulevard pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 26, 2026 with the Monthly and Annually views each read, for Essentials, Premier and Prestige list prices, the plan comparison and the forms add-on. The fall promotional rates are not used.
  • Mangomint pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 26, 2026 for the per-location and per-user price, included features, the booth renter answer and the free trial answer. No yearly view is shown.
  • Mangomint free trialMangomint's own post (updated August 2026), read October 26, 2026: since August 1, 2026 the trial has no time limit, needs no card, and billing starts when you launch.
  • Vagaro pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 26, 2026 for the price by number of people ($10 per bookable calendar license up to seven), the included features and the 30-day trial in the FAQ. Rent collection appears in the pricing page's multi-location block and in the site's feature menu, not tied to a plan. The first-six-months rate shown beside each price is not used.
  • GlossGenius pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 26, 2026 with the Monthly and Annual views each read, for Standard, Gold and Platinum prices, key features, the calendar and staff-management rows and the 14-day no-card trial.
  • Squire pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 26, 2026 for the Independent, Pro, Executive and Titan prices, the plan comparison and the per-shop FAQ. No yearly view is shown.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is the best CRM for a hair salon?

For most hair salons, barbershops and booth renters, a salon platform such as Boulevard, Mangomint, Vagaro or GlossGenius fits best, because the book, deposits, reminders and checkout live together. Workspace369 fits only bridal, event and group work that needs proposals, deposits and invoices, not a busy chair.

Can a CRM store colour formulas?

None of the pricing pages we read names a colour-formula record, so test it. Boulevard lists forms and charts (an add-on below its top plan), Mangomint lists forms and charting, and GlossGenius lists forms, waivers and photo markup. Create a fictional formula in each trial and check it shows at the next visit.

How do these tools handle booth or chair renters?

Mangomint says it supports booth renter and hybrid models, with separate booking links and payment accounts, and each renter counts as a user. GlossGenius lists separate bank accounts for booth renters from Gold, Squire lists commission and rent collection on its $150 plan, and Vagaro lists a rent collection feature. Workspace369 has none of these.

How do these tools charge?

Boulevard charges by plan and location, Mangomint per location and per user, Vagaro by headcount, GlossGenius by plan, Squire a flat fee per shop and Workspace369 by plan. Price your actual chair count and your renters, not the entry price.

Which plan do I need for online booking in Workspace369?

Online booking starts at Specialist ($149 a month, $119.25 billed yearly, 10 seats). Cadet and Voyager can take requests through public intake forms instead, and email appointment reminders are on every plan, with SMS messaging from Voyager.

Which of these tools has a free trial?

Squire lists a 14-day free trial, GlossGenius says 14 days with no card, Vagaro says 30 days, and Mangomint says its trial has no time limit and needs no card. Boulevard shows no trial on its pricing page, only a demo. Workspace369 has a 14-day trial on Cadet through Commander, card required.

How should I test a tool before moving my salon?

Book one fictional colour-correction client with a deposit, a three-hour block with a processing gap, a stored formula, a rebooking prompt and a retail sale. Use made-up data and check nothing has to be retyped between visits.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.