Freelancer invoicing software that remembers the work behind every bill.

Workspace369 connects freelance invoices to the client, accepted proposal and project work. Create invoices and share payment links on Cadet at $29/month in USD; clients pay by card or ACH bank transfer on every plan. Tracked hours become invoice items on every plan; for client costs and receipts, Specialist adds expense tracking.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

2 minutes: email, mobile number (code for US/Canada only), card. $0 for 14 days.

1record from first request to final payment
Liveinvoice, payment, and expense status
Lesscopying between client tools
Workspace369 dashboard showing clients, projects, invoices, and reporting in one workspace

Key facts

Freelancer invoicing software at Workspace369 covers 10 areas, including proposals, quotes, invoices.

The workflow runs in 4 steps, from "capture the client and scope" to "follow up with context".

Workspace369 starts at $29/mo for 1 seat, and the Commander plan includes 20 seats and 12× Cadet usage at $299/mo.

Additional seats cost $10 each; full pricing is public on the Workspace369 pricing page.

Freelancer invoicing apps compared

Which freelancer invoicing software fits depends on what you need around the invoice. FreshBooks Lite ($23 a month), Wave and Zoho Invoice are dedicated invoicing tools that win on invoicing alone; Workspace369 (Cadet, $29 a month) fits when the invoice should follow an accepted proposal or tracked hours, with cards paid through your own Stripe account.

ToolEntry priceReminders and recurring on entry planMain entry-plan limitTrial
Workspace369$29 a month (Cadet); $23.25 billed yearlyBoth (reminders via the payment follow-up workflow)5 active projects, 1 seat14 days, card required
FreshBooks$23 a month (Lite)Both5 billed clients30 days, no card
Bonsai$25 a month (Essentials); $19 billed yearlyNot stated by planNo invoicing on Basic7 days, card to continue
HoneyBook$29 a month billed yearly (Starter)Both listed2 lead forms, no team members30 days, no card
Wave$0 (Starter)Basic recurring only; reminders need ProReminders need $19 ProNot stated
Zoho Invoice$0Both500 invoices a year, 3 projectsFree plan
Invoice Ninja$0 (Free), $14 (Pro)Recurring yes; reminders on Pro5 clients on FreeNo paid trial stated

Prices and limits from each vendor's official pricing page, checked October 22, 2026, in USD. Prices change, so confirm before you buy. FreshBooks Lite, Wave and Zoho Invoice figures named in the answer were re-checked on each vendor's own pricing page on October 19, 2026. Read the full invoicing software comparison.

Why a basic invoice sender stops being enough

Billable work is reconstructed later

Hours, deliverables, approved changes, and expenses live in different places when it is time to invoice.

Follow-up becomes a memory test

A late invoice is easy to miss when payment status, messages, reminders, and the client relationship are separated.

The cheapest app creates a larger stack

Invoicing looks simple until the freelancer also needs proposals, projects, files, scheduling, CRM, expenses, and reporting.

See the workspace your clients feel.

01

Every channel in one inbox

Email lands beside the client record on every plan; texts, calls and voicemail join it from Voyager, with AI call summaries from Specialist.

Workspace369 shared inbox showing email, SMS, and call history beside a client record
02

Client work, organized as projects

Tasks, files, and status for every engagement — visible to the team and, through the client portal, to the client.

Workspace369 project board showing client work organized into stages with owners and status
03

Review the work, then invoice

Prepare the client invoice with line items, payment terms and the agreed amount. Review it before sending and track its payment status.

Workspace369 invoice editor showing line items, payment terms, and client details
04

A portal clients actually check

Clients watch progress, files, and invoices in a branded portal instead of asking your team for updates.

Workspace369 client record showing history, files, communication, and invoices in one profile

A cleaner freelance billing loop

01

Capture the client and scope

Keep contact details, notes, requests, proposals, quotes, files, and accepted work together.

02

Track what becomes billable

Track project tasks and supporting notes as work happens. Billable time and timesheets come with every plan; Specialist adds expense and receipt records.

03

Send and collect

Review the agreed amount, service period and prior payments, then send the invoice and payment link. Check recurring billing and deposit requirements against the plan matrix.

04

Follow up with context

Review status, communication, overdue work, and reporting without opening a second system.

Freelance finance without losing client context

  • Workspace369 is strongest when invoicing is one part of an ongoing client workflow.
  • A freelancer who only sends a few simple invoices may prefer a smaller invoice-only product.
  • The value grows when client records, delivery, communication, billing, and expenses need one source of truth.
Proposals
Quotes
Invoices
Payments
Time tracking
Expenses
Projects
Client CRM
Files
Reports

Pick the plan your work needs today.

Client records, proposals, invoices, online payments, time tracking and intake forms are on every plan. Upgrade when your work needs calls, texts or more.
Take calls and texts, share an inbox

Voyager

$74 / month

Founding offer: $444 for your first year, billed yearly

2 seats included

Everything in Cadet, plus

  • SMS messaging
  • Voice & voicemail
  • Shared inbox
  • Missed-call text back
  • No-answer forwarding
Start Voyager trial

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: $74/month for Voyager. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

Bookings, expenses and payment plans

Specialist

$149 / month

Founding offer: $894 for your first year, billed yearly

10 seats included

Everything in Voyager, plus

  • Online booking
  • Expense tracking
  • Payment plans
  • Inventory tracking
Start Specialist trial

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: $149/month for Specialist. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

Founding member offer on yearly plans: your first year costs the same as 6 months, for the first 100 customers who join by Oct 31. USD monthly billing. Compare all plans.

Free account setup & migration help

Our team sets up your workspace with you and helps move your clients and invoices from the tools you use now.

Export your data as a spreadsheet and AI Import maps the columns for you. Support can help with anything unusual.

Offer ends .

Start free trial

14 days free · card required · then $29/mo · cancel anytime

After signup, claim free setup in your workspace.

What reviewers say about Workspace369.

★ 5.0 from 12 ratings on the App Store (as of 2026-10-26)

★★★★★
SMB Modernization

Great tool for modernizing small businesses. Ability to leverage AI without technical background.

Foreman345 · · App Store review
★★★★★
True all-in-one system

It beautifully combined my CRM, team calendar, and billing tools so I could finally stop paying for a bunch of separate software subscriptions

samimonroe · · App Store review
★★★★★
Best app for my construction business

Great app. This app solved all my needs! Not only did it help, but it is cheaper than other apps. I highly recommend this app if you want to start organizing and automating your business on another level. Also love the design

SebastianBroco · · App Store review

Quoted exactly as written, in the reviewer’s own language. This is a selection of reviews, not all of them. Reviews from our own team are left out of the selection, but the overall rating includes their ratings.

See Workspace369 on your own client work.

Start your trial and send your first proposal or invoice from your own workspace. Compare plans any time; upgrade only when your work needs more.
Start free trial Compare plans

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

Questions freelancers ask before switching

What is the best invoicing app for a freelancer?

It depends on what comes before the invoice. For invoices, reminders and recurring billing on the entry plan, FreshBooks Lite ($23 a month) lists all three. For free invoicing, Wave's Starter plan is $0 with basic recurring invoices but reminders need its $19 Pro plan, and Zoho Invoice is free up to 500 invoices a year. When the invoice should come from an accepted proposal or tracked hours, Workspace369 Cadet ($29 a month) keeps proposals, deposits, time-to-invoice and the client portal on one client record. Prices checked on official pricing pages on October 22, 2026.

How much does Workspace369 freelancer invoicing cost?

Cadet costs $29/month in USD for one seat and includes invoices, proposals, public proposal signing and invoice payment links. Voyager costs $74/month for two seats and adds the shared inbox, SMS and calls; billable time tracking and time-to-invoice come with every plan. Specialist costs $149/month for ten seats and adds expense tracking. Prices are per workspace, billed monthly.

Can I turn freelance hours into invoice line items?

Yes. Time tracking, timers, timesheets, billable time and time-to-invoice are included on every plan. Track work against the client, project or task, then review the hours, rate and resulting invoice line items before sending. Expense tracking and receipt capture start at Specialist.

Do freelance clients need an account to pay an invoice?

No. All plans include public invoice and payment links so clients can view and pay online without an account. Payments run through your connected Stripe account; check its supported payment methods.

Can I invoice recurring freelance work?

Yes. Recurring invoices and payment schedules are included in the current plan matrix. Keep the service period, included work, agreed amount and approved extras clear. A recurring invoice is different from automatically tracking usage against a prepaid retainer balance.

Can I send a proposal for approval before invoicing?

Yes. Every plan includes proposals, public approval and signing, and proposal-to-invoice conversion. Review the accepted scope and invoice amount before sending. Collecting a deposit on proposal acceptance is included from Cadet ($29/month).

Do I need a Stripe account to take card payments on freelance invoices?

On Workspace369, yes: card payments run through your own Stripe account, and every plan includes public payment links. If you would rather not set up a separate processor, a dedicated invoicing app such as FreshBooks, Wave or Zoho Invoice may be simpler.

See where Workspace369 fits into your client-work flow.

Start with the modules you need today, then turn on AI, automations, accounting, inventory, requests, and reporting as the operation grows.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

How to Invoice Clients as a Freelancer and Get Paid on Time (2026)

ClientWorkHQ on YouTube · 8 min

Video thumbnail: How to Invoice Clients as a Freelancer and Get Paid on Time (2026)