Best invoicing software for freelancers in 2026: get paid on time

The best invoicing software for freelancers who bill clients directly is Workspace369: payments, recurring invoices, automatic reminders and time tracking sit on its $29 entry plan beside proposals and a client portal. FreshBooks fits accounting-minded freelancers with a short client list (Lite is $23 a month for 5 billed clients), while Wave, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja suit tight budgets.

Seven invoicing tools for freelancers compared on price, entry-plan limits, reminders and recurring invoices, with a use-case table and a one-invoice test.

We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.

Published October 13, 2026 · Updated October 30, 2026 · 12 min read

Workspace369 is also a native app for iPhone and iPad for sending invoices and payment links. Not sure what to charge yet? Try the free invoice generator first.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 27, 2026. Check current plans and limits with each vendor before you buy.

Key takeaways

  • Good freelancer invoicing software sends the invoice the day the work is done, lets the client pay online, and follows up on its own when payment is late.
  • Workspace369 covers online payment, recurring invoices, automatic overdue reminders and time tracking on its $29 entry plan, plus proposals, deposits and a client portal; Cadet is one seat.
  • FreshBooks has a 30-day no-card trial and $23 entry price, but its Lite plan covers only 5 billed clients.
  • Wave, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja have free plans, each with its own limit: Wave Starter leaves automated reminders to Pro, Zoho caps invoices at 500 a year and Invoice Ninja caps free clients at 5.
  • Bonsai Basic has no invoicing; freelancers need Essentials or higher. HoneyBook lists payment reminders; it switched its time tracker off on September 8, 2026 and restored it on September 15.
  • Run one invoice from creation to partial payment in each trial, then set up one recurring retainer. If either step needs a workaround, it will need one every month.
What's inside?What invoicing software is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best invoicing software for freelancers in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich invoicing tool fits how you bill?Workspace369 in action for a freelancer: a deposit, then the balanceWhat to put on the page clients see after they payRun a one-invoice testWhen to keep it simple
An invoice folds into a paper airplane that follows a dotted path to an open coin tray beside a small desk bell.

What invoicing software is (and what it is not)

Invoicing software creates an invoice, sends it, takes payment and tracks what is still owed. It is not the same as accounting software, which keeps your books, categorizes bank transactions and prepares tax reports. Some tools do both, and some do only the first. If your accountant needs your books in one place, check that before you choose; if you only need to get paid, a lighter tool is enough.

How we compared these tools

Also readFreelancer invoicing software

We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing and product pages:

  1. Entry price for one person, as listed on October 27, 2026, including any free plan.
  2. Billing features on that plan: online payment, recurring invoices, automatic reminders and time tracking.
  3. Hard limits on the entry plan: clients, invoices, projects or users.
  4. What sits around the invoice: proposals, a client portal, or accounting.
  5. Trial terms: length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.

We did not test payment speed, support or reliability, and we did not use third-party ratings. Order reflects fit for a freelancer who bills clients directly.

The best invoicing software for freelancers in 2026

1. Workspace369, best for freelancers who want billing, reminders and the work behind each invoice in one place

Workspace369 invoice editor with line items, a partial payment and a Pay Now button in the client preview

Workspace369 puts invoices, recurring invoices, retainers and deposits, payment links and online payments on every plan. Time tracking with time-to-invoice is on every plan too, and so are the client portal and proposals signed by link. Overdue invoices can be chased automatically: the pre-made payment follow-up workflow, included on every plan, sends email reminders on a 1, 3, 7, 14 and 30-day ladder after the due date. Cadet is $29 a month for one person ($23.25 billed yearly). The demo invoice above is partly paid: the preview shows the amount paid, the remaining balance and a Pay Now button. Use online payments for card checkout and retainers and recurring billing for monthly clients.

Limitations: Cadet is 1 seat with unlimited projects. Payment plans, expenses and AR aging start at Specialist ($149 a month). Credit notes are coming soon. It costs more than free invoicing apps, and the 14-day trial needs a card.

Why it ranks first: on its entry plan it covers every billing point in our method (online payment, recurring invoices, automatic reminders and time tracking) and adds proposals, deposits and a client portal, with no cap on billed clients.

Best for: freelancers who want invoices, reminders, deposits and tracked hours tied to the client and project they belong to.

2. FreshBooks, best for accounting-minded freelancers with a short client list

FreshBooks' pricing page lists recurring invoices, automated late-payment reminders, deposits, a client portal and time tracking on its plans, including Lite. Lite is listed at $23 a month, Plus at $43 and Premium at $70, with a 30-day trial that the page says needs no credit card. Every core billing feature sits on the entry plan, and the longer no-card trial makes it easy to try. Where it beats Workspace369 for a freelancer: a lower list price ($23 against $29), a trial with no card, and bookkeeping tools aimed at accounting.

Limitations: Lite covers 5 billed clients and Plus 50, so a growing client list pushes you up a plan. Extra team members are $11 a month each.

Best for: freelancers whose main need is sending invoices and getting paid, with a short client list.

3. Bonsai, best for time tracking and contracts alongside invoices

Bonsai prices per user. Basic is $15 a month ($9 billed yearly) but has no invoicing. Essentials is $25 a month ($19 billed yearly) and adds invoices and payments, a client portal, proposals and contracts, forms and scheduling. Time tracking is on every plan. The 7-day trial gives full access, and the pricing page does not clearly say whether a card is needed at sign-up. If you run the test, trial Essentials rather than Basic.

Limitations: invoicing is not on Basic, and integrations such as QuickBooks and Zapier start at Premium ($29 a month billed yearly). The page does not map recurring invoices or reminders to a plan, so check both in the trial.

Best for: freelancers who track hours and send contracts as well as invoices, and who bill as one person.

4. HoneyBook, best for invoices inside a booking workflow

HoneyBook lists invoices and payments with one-time, recurring or custom schedules, and automatic payment reminders, on its plans. Starter is $29 a month billed yearly, with a 30-day trial that its FAQ says needs no card. It is built around inquiry, proposal, contract and payment, so the invoice follows a signed booking. Unlimited clients and projects are included, so the cap that matters is not the client count. If you run the one-invoice test, expect the invoice step to feel natural when it follows an accepted proposal, and less so for a one-off bill with no booking behind it.

Limitations: Starter allows 2 live lead forms and no team members, and A time tracker exists (it was switched off on September 8, 2026 and restored on September 15), but the product is built around bookings rather than hourly billing, so test it if you bill by the hour.

Best for: photographers, planners and designers who sell fixed-price bookings and want the invoice to follow the contract.

5. Wave, best for light billing with a free starting plan

Wave Starter is $0 and its pricing page lists unlimited estimates and invoices. Pro is $19 a month or $190 a year and adds scheduled reminders at 3, 7 and 14 days after the due date, plus branding removal. Wave's invoicing page says recurring billing comes with a Pro subscription. If you run the one-invoice test on Starter, expect to send the invoice and take the payment, then hit the Pro gate when you set up reminders or a retainer. Price Pro, not Starter, if those two matter to you.

Limitations: automated reminders and recurring invoices are Pro features, and time tracking is not listed. Trial and card terms are not stated on the pages we reviewed.

Best for: freelancers with occasional invoices who want a free start.

6. Zoho Invoice, best for free invoicing with a client portal

Zoho Invoice's free plan is described as forever free. It lists up to 500 invoices a year, 2 users, 3 projects, recurring invoices, automated payment reminders, time tracking with projects and a self-service customer portal. Invoices carry "Powered by Zoho Invoice" branding. If you run the one-invoice test, expect the recurring invoice and reminder steps to be available without a paid tier, so the real question is whether 500 invoices a year and 3 projects fit your volume.

Limitations: the 500-invoice and 3-project caps apply, inactive accounts have data deleted after 180 days with notice, and the page shows no paid tier. Pairing with Zoho's other products is the path for bookkeeping.

Best for: freelancers with a modest invoice count who want reminders and a portal at no cost.

7. Invoice Ninja, best for open-source flexibility and a low paid tier

Invoice Ninja's Free plan covers up to 5 clients with unlimited invoicing, recurring invoices, time tracking and a client portal. Ninja Pro is $14 a month ($140 a year) with unlimited clients and invoices and automatic late-payment reminder emails. A self-hosting option is linked from its site, which suits freelancers who want to run the software themselves. If you run the one-invoice test on Free, expect to send the invoice and take the payment, then check the reminder step against Pro. Paid plans carry a 30-day money-back promise.

Limitations: Free does not include automatic reminders, custom invoice designs or branding removal. The pricing page mentions no free trial for paid plans, and card terms for paid plans are not stated.

Best for: technically comfortable freelancers who want control and a low monthly price.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolEntry priceReminders and recurring on entry planMain entry-plan limitTrial
Workspace369$29 a month (Cadet); $23.25 billed yearlyBoth (reminders via the payment follow-up workflow)1 seat, unlimited projects14 days, card required
FreshBooks$23 a month (Lite)Both5 billed clients30 days, no card
Bonsai$25 a month (Essentials); $19 billed yearlyNot stated by planNo invoicing on Basic7 days, card to continue
HoneyBook$29 a month billed yearly (Starter)Both listed2 lead forms, no team members30 days, no card
Wave$0 (Starter)Pro onlyReminders and recurring need $19 ProNot stated
Zoho Invoice$0Both500 invoices a year, 3 projectsFree plan
Invoice Ninja$0 (Free), $14 (Pro)Recurring yes; reminders on Pro5 clients on FreeNo paid trial stated

Which invoicing tool fits how you bill?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
Invoices, reminders and recurring billing on the entry planFreshBooksAll listed on Lite, with a 30-day no-card trial
Invoices that come from an accepted proposal or tracked hoursWorkspace369Proposals, deposits, time-to-invoice and portal share one client record
Hourly billing plus contractsBonsaiTime tracking on every plan; invoicing from Essentials
Signed bookings then paymentHoneyBookInvoices follow the proposal and contract
Occasional invoices at no costWave or Zoho InvoiceFree starting plans, each with limits
Low monthly price and controlInvoice NinjaFree plan, then $14 a month

Workspace369 in action for a freelancer: a deposit, then the balance

Say a client approves a $3,000 project. In Workspace369 the approved proposal collects a deposit, the work sits on a project, and the balance goes out as an invoice when the work is delivered. For a monthly client, retainers and recurring billing repeat the invoice on schedule, and tracked hours can be invoiced from time tracking without retyping them.

Workspace369 projects board with Planning, In Progress and On Hold columns of project cards showing progress, budget and days left

That is the projects board in a demo workspace with sample data, not a customer result. Each card shows a project's progress, budget and time left, so you can see which jobs are waiting on a balance invoice without opening a spreadsheet.

What it does not do: it is not accounting software, and Cadet has unlimited projects but one seat, so a freelancer who adds an assistant needs Voyager.

What to put on the page clients see after they pay

The moment a client pays is the best time to tell them what happens next, and a bare "Thank you" wastes it. A useful post-payment page does a few things in order:

  • Confirm first. Show that the payment arrived, the invoice number and that a receipt was emailed, before anything else.
  • Make one next step the obvious one. For most freelancers that is booking the kickoff call or choosing a start date. One clear button beats a row of equal links.
  • Keep the rest short. A welcome guide, a link to the client portal or the questions you need answered before you start. Three to five steps is plenty.
  • Time the review ask. Ask for a review when the work is delivered. On a final invoice the payment page is a good place for it; on a deposit it is too early, so leave it off until later.

Workspace369 builds this into every plan. After a payment is confirmed, clients see your note and up to five next steps in the order you set: book a call, leave a review, refer a friend, open their own client portal, download a file, watch a video or open any link. The first step is filled in your brand color, and you can hide a step you are not ready for, such as the review step on a deposit, without deleting it. You can also send clients on to your own website after a 5, 10 or 15 second countdown. The payments feature page shows it step by step.

Run a one-invoice test

Send one invoice to yourself during each trial, using a second email address as the client:

  1. Create the invoice from a saved service, not from scratch.
  2. Add a due date 14 days out and switch on reminders.
  3. Open it on your phone as the client and pay part of it.
  4. Check that the invoice shows the partial payment and the remaining balance.
  5. Look at what the client record shows: the invoice, the payment and any messages.
  6. Note what the client sees right after paying: does the tool let you add a next step, such as booking the kickoff call?

Then set up one recurring invoice for a retainer. If you run the test, expect the reminder and partial-payment steps to separate the tools fastest; those are where basic apps often need extra setup or a paid tier.

A freelancer confirms a client payment on a phone beside a laptop showing an invoice marked with a check.

When to keep it simple

If you send a few invoices a month and a free tool covers them, you do not need a platform. Move up when you retype details between a proposal, a timer and an invoice, or when you cannot tell at a glance who is overdue. If your invoices usually follow a proposal, the freelancer invoicing software page lists what Workspace369 includes on each plan, and the broader best invoice software guide covers small teams. Add up the subscription and the tools you would still need.

Whichever tool you trial, set up reminders on day one and add a deposit for every new client. Those habits shorten payment times more than any template. Compare current plans on the pricing page.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • FreshBooks pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for plan prices, billed-client limits and trial terms.
  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 27, 2026.
  • Bonsai pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for Basic and Essentials features and trial terms.
  • HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for Starter price, lead-form limits and trial terms.
  • Wave pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for Starter and Pro prices and reminders.
  • Wave invoicingOfficial product page reviewed October 27, 2026 for recurring invoices and late-payment reminders.
  • Zoho Invoice pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for free-plan limits and features.
  • Invoice Ninja pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 27, 2026 for Free and Pro limits and prices.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is the best invoicing software for freelancers?

For most freelancers billing clients directly, our pick is Workspace369: payment, recurring invoices, automatic reminders and time tracking sit on its entry plan beside proposals and a client portal. FreshBooks suits accounting-minded freelancers with few clients, and Wave and Zoho Invoice have free plans for light billing.

What is the best invoicing app for freelancers with card payments?

Workspace369, if you also want proposals, projects and automatic reminders: clients pay invoices by card through your own Stripe account on every plan, from $29 a month. A dedicated invoicing tool can win on invoicing alone; FreshBooks Lite lists credit and debit card payments at $23 a month for up to 5 billed clients (checked October 27, 2026).

Is there free invoicing software for freelancers?

Yes. Wave Starter is $0, Zoho Invoice has a free plan with up to 500 invoices a year, and Invoice Ninja is free for up to 5 clients, per their pricing pages. Each leaves some features, such as automated reminders on Wave and Invoice Ninja, to paid tiers or other tools.

How much does freelancer invoicing software cost?

On October 27, 2026, the entry paid plans with invoicing that we checked ranged from $14 a month (Invoice Ninja Pro) to $29 a month (HoneyBook Starter billed yearly and Workspace369 Cadet billed monthly). Compare the plan that includes the features you tested.

Do I need accounting software to send invoices?

Not always. If you only need to bill clients and get paid, an invoicing tool is enough. If your accountant wants your books in one system, check whether your invoicing tool also does bookkeeping or exports cleanly.

Which invoicing tools turn tracked time into invoices?

Of the tools checked, FreshBooks, Workspace369, Bonsai, Zoho Invoice and Invoice Ninja list time tracking. Test whether tracked hours become invoice lines without retyping.

How do I test invoicing software before I buy?

Send one invoice to a second email address, pay part of it from your phone, and check the remaining balance. Then set up one recurring invoice for a retainer.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

Start free

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

See pricing