Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026

Best personal trainer software: six tools compared for solo trainers and small studios on price, programming, booking, packages and contracts.

We make Workspace369, which is on this list. Weigh our ranking with that in mind.

Published July 25, 2026 · Updated October 20, 2026 · 10 min read

The best personal trainer software depends on whether clients train through an app or you mostly sell sessions in person. For app-delivered programs, Everfit and Trainerize lead this list because they list workout building, a client app and booking. For paperwork around packages, a Proposal, a contract and a deposit, Workspace369 is the last of the six here, and it is built for that part only. Our personal trainer software hub shows where it fits, and the free deposit calculator sizes a package deposit.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 20, 2026, including each billing switch. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.

Key takeaways

  • Trainers who deliver workouts through an app should start with a fitness platform. Everfit, Trainerize, TrueCoach and PT Distinction all list workout building and a client app; Workspace369 does not.
  • Everfit lists booking and scheduling on Pro, from $19 a month ($16 billed yearly) for 5 clients, and a free Starter plan for up to 5 clients. Trainerize has a permanent free plan for 1 client and lists appointments, classes and session packs from Grow at $10 a month.
  • Square Appointments lists online booking, deposits and invoices on its $0 plan, and class booking and packages from Plus at $49 a month per location, but no workout programming.
  • Workspace369 Cadet is $29 a month ($23.25 billed yearly) for one user. It lists Proposals, contracts with e-signature, deposits, invoices and retainers with payment schedules, while online booking starts at Specialist.
  • Trial terms differ: Trainerize and Everfit say no card is needed, TrueCoach says 14 days with no card, and Workspace369 gives 14 days and asks for a card.
What's inside?What personal trainer software is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best personal trainer software in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich tool fits your training business?Run a package-purchase test during the trialWhen a programming platform is enough
A dumbbell rests on a training plan beside ascending progress blocks and a calendar page.

What personal trainer software is (and what it is not)

Personal trainer software covers two jobs. One is delivering training: an exercise library, a workout builder, a client app, check-ins and messaging. The other is running the business around it: booking sessions, selling packages, taking deposits, collecting payments and keeping signed agreements. Fitness platforms put most of their effort into the first job and add the second in layers. General business tools do the reverse. This guide makes no claims about training outcomes, nutrition advice or what a trainer will earn, and it does not evaluate exercise content.

How we compared these tools

Also readPersonal trainer software hub

Each tool was checked on the same five points, using only its own pricing pages:

  1. Entry price, monthly and billed yearly, for the smallest paid plan. Where a page shows one billing view only, the table says "Not shown".
  2. Delivery tools: whether the page lists a workout builder and a client app.
  3. Session booking: which plan lists appointments, booking or scheduling.
  4. Packages and money: how the page describes session packs, payments, deposits or invoices.
  5. Caps and trial: client limits on the entry plan, trial length and whether a card is mentioned.

Order reflects documented fit for a solo trainer or small studio that sells sessions, packages and online coaching. Fitness platforms rank first because they list workout programming and a client app, which Workspace369 and Square do not. Among those four, the order follows the price of the first five clients (Everfit $19, Trainerize $25, TrueCoach $29.98, PT Distinction $31.90 for Basic plus two extra clients at $6.00) and how many business steps (booking, packages, payments) sit on that plan. Square follows because its $0 plan lists online booking, deposits and invoices, which a trainer selling in-person sessions can use immediately. Workspace369 is last because its online booking starts at $149 a month and it has no programming. We did not test speed, apps, support or exercise libraries, and we did not use third-party ratings.

The best personal trainer software in 2026

1. Everfit, best for programming plus booking at a low entry price

Everfit lists a free Starter plan for up to 5 clients with a workout builder, custom exercise library, messaging and iOS and Android apps. Pro starts at $19 a month, or $16 billed yearly, for 5 clients (10 clients is $29 monthly or $24 yearly) and adds Booking and Scheduling, forms and questionnaires, habit coaching, basic meal plans and custom branding. Payments and Packages is a separate add-on, $9 a month or $8 billed yearly, that lists recurring subscriptions and one-time coaching packages. Pro shows "No credit card required", and the page names a 30-day free trial.

Limitations: pricing scales with client count, so a larger roster costs noticeably more, and packages and payments are an add-on. The pricing page lists no contracts, Proposals or e-signature.

Best for: trainers delivering programs through an app who want booking on the same plan and a free tier to start with.

2. Trainerize, best for the broadest set of coaching tools

Trainerize has a permanent free plan for 1 client, and its comparison table marks appointments, classes, session packs and payment processing as available from Grow. Grow is $10 a month ($9 billed yearly) for up to 2 clients. Pro 5 is $25 monthly ($23 yearly) for up to 5 clients, with custom exercise videos and consultation forms. Add-ons include a Business add-on at $25 a month for scheduling extras such as video calls and booking links, and Stripe Integrated Payments at $10 a month. The trial is 30 days with no card required; afterwards the account reverts to the free plan.

Limitations: the add-on pricing means the monthly bill for booking extras and payments is higher than the plan price suggests, and the table marks invoice and ACH billing as Enterprise only. No contracts or Proposals are listed.

Best for: coaches who want classes, session packs and app-based training from a single vendor and may start on the free plan.

3. TrueCoach, best for simple programming with built-in payments

TrueCoach lists a program and workout builder, a video exercise library, in-app messaging and automated payments on every plan. Starter is $29.98 a month, or $26.34 billed yearly, for up to 5 active clients. Standard is $69.98 monthly ($57.99 yearly) for 20 clients, and Pro is $164.98 monthly ($136.99 yearly) for 50 clients. Its payments run through Stripe as recurring charges. The trial is 14 days and the page says no credit card is required.

Limitations: its entry plan costs more than the entry plans of the other fitness platforms, though it covers 5 clients. The pricing page does not name appointment booking, contracts or invoices, and branded apps start at Standard.

Best for: coaches who want a plain programming tool with recurring payments and a short trial.

4. PT Distinction, best for one flat price per roster band

PT Distinction prices by client count, and the page says features come included on every plan; custom-branded apps start at Pro. Basic is $19.90 a month with 3 clients, Pro $59.90 with 25 clients and Master $89.90 with 50 clients; extra clients cost $6.00, $2.40 or $1.60 a month depending on the plan, and the page says extra trainers are free. Features include a program builder, AI program builder, nutrition tools, scheduled email and SMS, automated workflows and "sell packages and take payments". The trial is one month, after which the membership continues unless you cancel; the page does not say whether a card is taken at signup.

Limitations: only a monthly price is shown, and the page names no appointment booking calendar, contracts or invoices. Basic covers just 3 clients before per-client charges begin.

Best for: online coaches who want everything unlocked from the first plan and expect to grow by client count.

5. Square Appointments, best for in-person session booking without a monthly fee

Square Appointments has a $0 plan per location listing an online booking site, appointment reminders and unlimited staff calendars. The feature table shows deposits and invoices (including recurring invoices) on all three plans. Cancellation policy with no-show fees, and class booking and packages, start at Plus, $49 a month per location. Premium is $149. Plus and Premium offer a free 30-day trial; the page does not mention a card. Payments carry Square processing fees, which vary by plan.

Limitations: it lists no workout builder, client app or exercise content, and only one billing view is shown, so a yearly price is Not shown. It is a booking and payments tool that a trainer adapts.

Best for: trainers selling in-person sessions or small group classes who want a booking page and deposits and will keep programs elsewhere.

6. Workspace369, best for Proposals, contracts and payment schedules around coaching packages

Workspace369 lists Proposals with optional add-on lines, deposit on acceptance, contracts with e-signature, proposal-to-invoice conversion, public invoice and payment links, and retainers with payment schedules on every plan, plus a client portal, public intake forms and email appointment reminders. Cadet is $29 a month ($23.25 billed yearly) for one user with 5 active projects. The screenshot below is not a customer result.

Workspace369 demo client profile with projects, invoices and documents tabs

Limitations: no exercise library, workout builder or client training app. Online booking starts at Specialist ($149 a month, $119.25 billed yearly), so on Cadet or Voyager you share a calendar link by hand. Payment plans also start at Specialist. The 14-day trial needs a card.

Best for: a trainer who sells higher-priced coaching or semi-private packages, already has a programming app, and wants the Proposal, signed agreement, deposit and invoices on one client record.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolEntry price (monthly)Billed yearlySession bookingPackages and paymentsMain entry-plan limitTrial
EverfitFree; Pro from $19 (5 clients)$16 a monthProAdd-on, $9 a month5 clients on Starter and on Pro's entry tier30 days, no card
TrainerizeFree; Grow $10 (2 clients); Pro 5 $25$9 and $23 a monthAppointments and classes from GrowSession packs from Grow; Stripe add-on $101 client free, 2 on Grow30 days, no card
TrueCoach$29.98 (Starter)$26.34 a monthNot namedAutomated payments via Stripe5 active clients14 days, no card
PT Distinction$19.90 (Basic, 3 clients)Not shownNot named"Sell packages and take payments"3 clients, then $6.00 each1 month, card not stated
Square Appointments$0; Plus $49 per locationNot shownOnline booking on $0 planDeposits and invoices on all plans; packages from PlusNo programming30 days on paid plans, card not stated
Workspace369$29 (Cadet, one user)$23.25 a monthSpecialist ($149 monthly)Proposals, contracts, deposit, retainers and schedules5 active projects, no programming14 days, card required

Which tool fits your training business?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
Programs, a client app and booking at the lowest priceEverfitBooking on Pro from $19 monthly, free for 5 clients to start
Classes, session packs and a free starting planTrainerizeListed from Grow, free plan for 1 client
A plain programming tool with recurring paymentsTrueCoachStripe payments on every plan, 14-day trial
Every feature listed on every plan, priced by roster sizePT DistinctionFeatures come included on every plan, from $19.90
A booking page and deposits for in-person clientsSquare AppointmentsOnline booking, deposits and invoices on $0
Signed agreements and deposits for premium packagesWorkspace369Proposals, e-signature contracts and payment schedules

Run a package-purchase test during the trial

Take one fictional client through the same sequence in every tool on your shortlist. The scenario is an exercise, not a customer result.

  1. Send an intake or consultation form and attach the answers to a client record.
  2. Offer a package of sessions with an optional add-on, and collect a deposit when the client accepts.
  3. Book three sessions and send a reminder for each.
  4. Change one session and move another to a different day, then check how the schedule and package balance reflect it.
  5. Renew the package and open the client record to confirm the agreement, payments and calendar all link together.

The best tool for you keeps these five steps in one place without a spreadsheet beside it.

A trainer and client review appointment scheduling, client records, and progress documents through a shared planning workflow.

When a programming platform is enough

If every client trains through an app and pays a flat monthly coaching fee, a fitness platform may be all you need, since it holds the workouts, messages and recurring payments. Add a business tool when you start selling signed, higher-priced packages, taking deposits, or billing on a schedule. The personal trainer software hub shows how Workspace369 handles Proposals, contracts, invoices and the client portal, and the pricing page lists current plans. On Specialist, scheduling includes online booking. For related guides, see the best CRM for fitness coaches and the best CRM for gyms and boutique fitness.

Before importing real clients, run one full package on demo data and confirm you can export your records.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 20, 2026.
  • Everfit pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 with the monthly and annual switch used, for plan prices, booking, add-ons and trial terms.
  • Trainerize pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 with the Monthly and Annual switch used, for plan prices, the comparison table, add-ons, FAQs and trial terms.
  • PT Distinction pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for monthly prices, client limits, included features and the free trial; no annual view was shown.
  • TrueCoach pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 with the Monthly and Annually switch used, for plan prices, client limits and trial terms.
  • Square Appointments pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 20, 2026 for plan prices, the per-plan feature table and trial terms.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is the best personal trainer software?

It depends on what you sell. If workouts reach clients through an app, a fitness platform such as Everfit or Trainerize fits better than a business tool. If you already have a programming app and want Proposals, contracts, deposits and invoices in one place, Workspace369 covers that part.

Do I still need workout programming software if I use Workspace369?

Yes. Workspace369 has no exercise library, workout builder or client training app. It holds the client record, Proposal, contract, deposit and invoices, and you keep a programming tool beside it.

Which of these tools has a free plan?

Everfit lists a free Starter plan for up to 5 clients, Trainerize lists a free plan for 1 client, and Square Appointments lists a $0 plan with online booking. TrueCoach, PT Distinction and Workspace369 have trials rather than free plans.

How can a trainer take a deposit for a package?

Ask for it when the client accepts the package and put the session count and expiry in the same agreement. Workspace369 lists deposit on acceptance on every plan, Square lists deposits on all plans, and the free deposit calculator helps size the amount.

Which tools can book sessions online?

Everfit lists booking and scheduling on Pro, Trainerize lists appointments from Grow, Square Appointments on its $0 plan, and Workspace369 from Specialist at $149 a month. The PT Distinction and TrueCoach pricing pages name no appointment booking.

Can these tools replace a gym or studio management system?

Not fully. Square lists class booking and packages on Plus and Trainerize lists classes, but none of the six pricing pages shows door access, membership billing at gym scale or front-desk check-in. Studios with those needs should evaluate dedicated gym software separately.

How should I test a tool before paying?

Run one fictional client through a consultation form, a package offer, a deposit, three booked sessions and a renewal. Check that the agreement, the payments and the schedule can be found from one client record.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.