Best agency project management software in 2026: delivery to billing

The best agency project management software connects delivery to the client and the money: the task board, the hours worked and the invoice sit together. For agencies that want that in one place, our pick is Workspace369, which also runs as a native app for iPhone and iPad, with iPad in every orientation. Teamwork, ClickUp and Asana are deeper on pure project management, and Productive on budgets and resourcing. Planning the team's load first? Try the free agency capacity planner.

Best agency project management software: eight tools compared on ten-seat yearly cost, time tracking, client access and billing gaps, plus a trial test.

We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.

Published July 3, 2026 · Updated November 4, 2026 · 10 min read

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 15, 2026; Productive's page was re-read on October 19, 2026. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.

Key takeaways

  • Agency project management software should connect a project to the client, the hours worked and the invoice, not just move tasks across a board.
  • Workspace369 fits agencies that want task boards, time tracking, a client portal and invoicing together; Specialist at $149 a month includes 10 seats, the workload view starts at Commander, and it pairs with a dedicated project management tool for portfolio views across many teams.
  • ClickUp, Asana and Teamwork are deeper on pure project management: views, portfolios, workload and automations, mostly on higher plans.
  • For ten seats billed yearly, the plans we checked range from about $100 a month (Productive Essential) to $250 a month (Teamwork Accelerate), before any separate invoicing tool.
  • Run one client project from the first task to a sent invoice in each trial and count the steps you do in another app.
What's inside?What agency project management software is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best agency project management software in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich tool fits your agency?Run a one-project test during the trialWhen a task-first tool is enough
Project cards climb a stepped platform along a teal ribbon toward a completed presentation board.

What agency project management software is (and what it is not)

Agency project management software organizes client work across a team: projects, tasks, owners, files, approvals and status. What makes it agency software is the layer around the board: which client a project belongs to, how many hours went into it, and whether it has been billed. It is not a CRM for winning work, and it is not an accounting system. If a tool keeps tasks tidy but leaves hours and invoices in other apps, someone still reconciles the story by hand at month end.

How we compared these tools

Also readAgency project management software

We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing pages and the Workspace369 plan matrix:

  1. Cost for ten seats billed yearly on the plan that lists time tracking, as listed on October 15, 2026.
  2. Time tracking: the cheapest plan that lists it.
  3. Client access: how clients or guests see work without taking a paid seat.
  4. Billing gap: whether the pricing page lists invoicing, or leaves it to another tool.
  5. Trial terms: length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.

We did not test speed, support, integrations or how well each tool scales past ten people, and we did not use third-party ratings. Order reflects fit for an agency that bills clients for delivery work, not depth of project views.

The best agency project management software in 2026

1. Workspace369, best for agencies that want delivery, hours and invoices on the client record

Workspace369 pairs kanban boards, task lists, subtasks and project stages with a team calendar, time tracking, a private client portal, proposals signed by link and invoices with online card payments through Stripe. Specialist is $149 a month with 10 seats included ($119.25 a month billed yearly); Voyager is $74 for 2 seats, extra seats are $10 each, and Cadet is $29 for one seat. Client portal visitors do not use a team seat. Specialist also lists project and customer profitability and AR aging. If you run the one-project test, expect the task, hours and invoice to share a record.

The Workspace369 projects board, with Time Tracking in the left-hand menu alongside tasks, proposals, invoices, and expenses

Limitations: the plan matrix lists boards, subtasks, stages and a calendar, with the workload view from Commander; for portfolio management across many teams, pair it with Asana, ClickUp or Teamwork. Cadet caps active projects at 5, and the 14-day trial needs a card.

Best for: agencies of two to ten people whose project data and billing data keep drifting apart.

2. Teamwork, best for delivery-focused agencies that bill from logged time

Teamwork's pricing page lists Free for up to 5 users and 5 projects; Basics at $9.99 per user a month billed yearly with billable time tracking; and Accelerate at $24.99 with client invoicing from logged time and workload planning. Optimize adds CRM-pipeline-to-projects and is priced through sales. Paid plans offer a 14-day trial with no card. Ten Basics seats come to $99.90 a month billed yearly, and ten Accelerate seats to $249.90. See Workspace369 vs Teamwork for more.

Limitations: invoicing and workload planning need Accelerate, and the pricing page does not describe a client portal for Teamwork.com plans.

Best for: agencies that want strong project delivery with billing from hours. Already on Teamwork? The Teamwork switching guide lists what moves and what doesn't.

3. Productive, best for budgets, utilization and resource planning

Productive's pricing page lists Essential with budgeting, resource planning, project and task management, time tracking and expense management, at $10 per user a month billed yearly ($12 billed monthly). That is $100 a month for ten seats billed yearly. Professional is $25 ($29 monthly) and adds recurring budgets, rate cards, billable time approvals and retainer invoicing, while invoices and credit notes are listed on every plan (checked October 19, 2026). The trial is 14 days with no card. If you run the test, expect hours and budgets to be strong, and check how client approvals are handled for your workflow.

Limitations: accounting integrations such as Xero and QuickBooks Online start at Professional, and the pricing page does not describe a client portal.

Best for: agencies that run on budgets and utilization targets.

4. ClickUp, best for flexible task management with a free plan

ClickUp's pricing page (re-read November 4, 2026) lists Free, Core at $9 per user a month billed yearly ($12 monthly) and Business at $17 ($25 monthly). Free includes 5 Spaces and unlimited guests with edit rights. Time tracking is on every plan, Free Forever included, advanced dashboards are on Business, and Business allows 10,000 automation actions a month. Ten Business seats at $17 come to $170 a month billed yearly. See Workspace369 vs ClickUp.

Limitations: the pricing page does not list invoicing or a client portal, and the free plan is limited to 500 AI credits and 60MB of storage.

Best for: agencies that want deep, configurable task management and handle billing elsewhere. Moving off ClickUp? Start with how to switch from ClickUp, including what moves and what doesn't.

5. Asana, best for structured delivery, portfolios and approvals

Asana's pricing page lists Personal free for 2 users, Starter at $10.99 per user a month billed yearly ($13.49 monthly) and Advanced at $24.99 ($30.49 monthly). Advanced lists unlimited portfolios, resource management and approvals and proofing, and Starter lists unlimited free guests. Timesheets and Budgets is a separate add-on. Ten Starter seats come to $109.90 a month billed yearly. The page states no refunds and does not mention a trial. If you run the test, expect task structure and approvals to be strong, and the invoice step to happen in another tool. See Workspace369 vs Asana.

Limitations: the pricing page does not list invoicing or a client portal, and time tracking sits on Advanced or an add-on.

Best for: agencies with several teams that need portfolios and formal approvals. Leaving Asana? Our Asana migration checklist covers what moves and what stays.

6. monday.com, best for visual boards and custom workflows

monday.com's pricing page lists Free for up to 2 seats, then Basic at $9, Standard at $12 and Pro at $19 per seat a month billed yearly, with plans starting from 3 users. Guest access starts at Standard and time tracking at Pro, so ten Pro seats come to $190 a month billed yearly. The page mentions a 14-day Pro trial and does not state a card requirement. If you run the test, expect boards to be quick to shape, and hours and invoices to live elsewhere. See Workspace369 vs monday.com.

Limitations: the pricing page does not list invoicing or a client portal, and time tracking needs the most expensive of the three standard plans.

Best for: agencies that want flexible visual boards and have billing handled elsewhere.

7. Scoro, best for agencies of five or more that want projects, time and invoicing from one vendor

Scoro's pricing page (read November 4, 2026) sells apps in combinations priced per user a month billed annually: Time-billing $17, Projects & Resources $29, Quote to Cash $29 and End-to-end $57, with a minimum of five users and a 14-day trial with no card. Ten Projects & Resources seats are $290 a month billed annually. Its Track app lists a time tracker, timesheets and billable time, and its Invoice app lists recurring and scheduled invoices, so hours and billing live in the same suite as delivery.

Limitations: five users minimum on every combination, the customer portal is a paid add-on, and monthly-billing prices are not shown in the page text (see site).

Best for: agencies that want delivery, resourcing, time and invoicing from one vendor and have at least five people.

8. Accelo, best for service firms of 15 or more that buy through sales

Accelo describes itself as a professional services automation platform for agencies. It publishes no prices: you request a quote, and its demo form, when you pick a team of 1 to 9 people, says it works best for growing teams of 15 or more users (read in a browser on October 26, 2026).

Limitations: no published price, and no self-serve trial shown on the pages we read; by its own form it is aimed at teams larger than most small agencies.

Best for: service firms of 15 or more that are happy to buy through sales. See Accelo alternatives for a small agency.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolEntry priceTen seats, billed yearlyTime tracking fromBilling on the planTrial
Workspace369$29 (Cadet, 1 seat)$119.25 a month (Specialist)Every planInvoices on every plan14 days, card required
TeamworkFree (5 users)$99.90 (Basics) or $249.90 (Accelerate)BasicsInvoicing on Accelerate14 days, no card
Productive$10 per user (yearly; $12 monthly)$100 (Essential)EssentialInvoices on all plans; retainer invoicing on Professional14 days, no card
ClickUpFree$170 (Business)Every plan, Free includedNot listedNot stated
AsanaFree (2 users)$109.90 (Starter)Advanced or add-onNot listedNot stated
monday.comFree (2 seats)$190 (Pro)ProNot listed14 days (Pro), card not stated
Scoro$17 per user (Time-billing; 5 users minimum)$290 (Projects & Resources)Time-billingInvoice app, recurring invoices14 days, no card
AcceloQuote onlySee siteSee siteSee siteDemo request

Which tool fits your agency?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
Tasks, hours, portal and invoices on one recordWorkspace369Time tracking and invoices on every plan
Delivery with workload planning and billing from hoursTeamworkClient invoicing from logged time on Accelerate
Budgets, rate cards and utilizationProductiveBudgeting and resource planning on Essential
Configurable tasks, docs and dashboardsClickUpTime tracking on every plan, advanced dashboards on Business
Portfolios, approvals and proofingAsanaAdvanced lists all three
Visual boards for many workflowsmonday.comCustom boards, guests from Standard
Projects, resourcing, time and invoicing from one vendorScoroCombinations from $17 a user, five users minimum
Services automation at 15+ people, bought through salesAcceloProfessional services automation, sold by quote

Run a one-project test during the trial

Feature lists look alike. Take one fictional client project from the first task to a sent invoice in each tool you shortlist:

  1. Create the client and a project with five tasks and two owners.
  2. Attach a file and ask the "client" to approve it.
  3. Log four hours against two of the tasks.
  4. Send an invoice that includes those hours.
  5. Check what a manager sees in one view: status, hours and amount billed.
  6. Count how many times you opened another app.

If you run the test, expect the dedicated project tools to feel stronger on steps 1 and 2 and the tools with billing to pull ahead on steps 4 and 5. That count is a better buying signal than any table, including the ones above.

An agency project manager compares planning documents, communication folders, and project checklists at a desk.

When a task-first tool is enough

A task-first tool is enough when the agency already has a reliable CRM and billing workflow, client communication is handled outside the delivery team, and leadership only needs project status. If you do need profitability, the project profitability software for agencies page and the project profitability calculation guide show how hours and billing combine. Workspace369 lists project profitability from Specialist. For a design studio, see the best software for a web design agency to manage clients and invoices.

Whichever tool you trial, finish one full project cycle with demo data before you import real clients, and confirm you can export your records. Compare current plans on the pricing page or start with the agency project management software hub.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 15, 2026.
  • Teamwork pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for plan prices and plan gates.
  • Productive pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 19, 2026 for plan prices, features and trial terms.
  • ClickUp pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for plan prices, free plan limits and plan gates; prices and the time-tracking gate re-checked October 23, 2026.
  • Asana pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for plan prices and plan gates.
  • monday.com pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 15, 2026 for plan prices, seat minimum and plan gates.
  • Scoro pricingOfficial pricing page read November 4, 2026 for combination prices, the five-user minimum and trial terms.
  • AcceloNo published prices; demo form wording read in a browser October 26, 2026.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is the best agency project management software?

It depends on whether delivery or billing is the bigger gap. For agencies that want tasks, hours, a client portal and invoices in one place, Workspace369 is our pick; for deeper project views and workload planning, compare Teamwork, ClickUp and Asana.

What should agency project management software include?

Task boards, owners, files and approvals, time tracking against the client, and some way to bill the work. The agency-specific part is knowing what was promised and what is billable for each project.

How much does agency project management software cost for 10 people?

Billed yearly, the plans we checked on October 15, 2026 range from about $100 a month for ten Productive Essential seats to about $250 for ten Teamwork Accelerate seats. Workspace369 Specialist is $119.25 a month billed yearly with 10 seats included.

Do I need a separate invoicing tool with a project tool?

Often yes. Teamwork lists client invoicing from logged time on Accelerate and Productive lists client invoices on every plan, with retainer invoicing from Professional; ClickUp, Asana and monday.com pricing pages do not list invoicing.

Which tools include time tracking on their cheaper plans?

Workspace369 includes time tracking on every plan, ClickUp lists it on every plan, Free Forever included, Teamwork from Basics and Productive on Essential. monday.com lists it on Pro, and Asana lists time tracking on Advanced.

Can clients see project status without a paid seat?

In Workspace369, client portal visitors do not use a team seat. Asana lists unlimited free guests on Starter, and monday.com lists guest access on Standard.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

Start free

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.

See pricing