Best CRM for content marketing agencies in 2026: retainers and approvals
Best CRM for content marketing agencies: seven client-work tools compared on price, plan limits, retainer billing and client approvals, plus a trial test.
We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.
The best CRM for content marketing agencies carries a monthly retainer from accepted proposal to deliverable tasks, client sign-off and a recurring invoice. For small agencies that want all of that on one client record, our pick is Workspace369. Moxie suits solo and small shops on a budget, Teamwork and Productive suit larger delivery teams that plan around budgets and capacity, and HubSpot's free CRM covers lead tracking only. Before you scope a retainer, try the free retainer pricing calculator.
Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based shortlist, not a hands-on benchmark. Official vendor pages were reviewed on October 22, 2026. Check current plans with each vendor before you buy.
Key takeaways
- A content agency CRM should carry a monthly retainer from accepted proposal to deliverable tasks, client sign-off and a recurring invoice, not just store contacts.
- Workspace369 fits small content agencies that want proposals, projects, client portal, time tracking and recurring invoices on one record from $29 a month; Cadet is capped at 5 active projects and one seat.
- Productive and Teamwork go deeper on budgets, capacity and retainers for larger delivery teams. Productive's pricing page lists budgeting, resource planning and time tracking on Essential but names no branded client portal.
- Moxie lists client management, proposals, invoicing and time tracking from $10 a month billed yearly, but its white-labeled client portal starts at Pro.
- Run one fictional four-article retainer through each trial, including a late extra revision, and count how often you retype a detail.
What's inside?
What a content agency CRM is (and what it is not)How we compared these toolsThe best CRM for content marketing agencies in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich tool fits your content agency?Run a four-article retainer test during the trialHandle extra revisions without losing marginWhen to keep it simple
What a content agency CRM is (and what it is not)
A content agency CRM is the client-side record of the work: what was agreed each month, which deliverables are due, what the client has approved, and what they owe. It is not your editorial calendar, your writing tool or your CMS; drafting and publishing stay where they are. It is also not a sales-team pipeline built for forecasting. If a tool stores contacts but leaves deliverables, approvals and recurring billing to three other apps, you will still rebuild each month by hand. For a broader view across agency types, see the best CRM for agencies guide.
How we compared these tools
We compared each tool on the same five points, using only the vendor's own pricing and product pages:
- Entry price, as listed on October 22, 2026, and per seat where the vendor prices that way.
- Retainer coverage on that plan: proposals, projects or deliverable tasks, time tracking, invoicing and recurring billing.
- Client portal on the entry plan, because clients checking files and status themselves cuts the approval emails.
- Hard limits on the entry plan: seats, projects, minimum users or features held back for a higher tier.
- Trial terms: length, and whether the vendor says a card is needed.
We did not test speed, support, reliability or proofing quality, and we did not use third-party ratings. Order reflects fit for a small content agency that bills monthly retainers.
The best CRM for content marketing agencies in 2026
1. Workspace369, best for small agencies running monthly retainers end to end

Workspace369 puts the client record, proposals that clients accept by public link, projects with task boards, a client portal, time tracking and invoices on one record. Retainers and recurring invoices are on every plan, including Cadet at $29 a month for one seat ($23.25 a month billed yearly), alongside deposits, online card payments through Stripe and automatic overdue reminders. Compare every plan on the pricing page. Client portal visitors do not use a team seat. The screenshot is demo data, not a customer result.
Limitations: Cadet runs up to 5 active projects and one seat; Voyager ($74 a month, 2 seats) removes the project cap, and Specialist ($149 a month, 10 seats) adds expenses and payment plans. The plan matrix does not list a proofing or in-document markup tool, so deliverable feedback runs through tasks, files and portal conversations. The 14-day trial needs a card.
Best for: content agencies of one to ten people who bill fixed monthly retainers and want scope, deliverables, approvals and invoices on one record.
2. Moxie, best for a low-cost all-in-one for solo and small agencies
Moxie's pricing page lists client management, projects, proposals and contracts, invoicing, time tracking, a sales pipeline and form builder from Starter at $12 a month, or $10 billed yearly. Pro is $25 a month ($20 billed yearly) and adds a white-labeled client portal, workflow automations and support ticketing. If you run the retainer test, expect the proposal, project and invoice steps to fit Starter, with client status updates staying in email until you move to Pro.
Limitations: the client portal starts at Pro, Teams is limited to five team members, and the page does not mention recurring invoices or retainers. The page title says 14-day trial, but card terms are not stated.
Best for: freelancers and tiny agencies who want proposals, projects and invoices at the lowest monthly cost.
3. Teamwork, best for client project delivery with time budgets
Teamwork prices per user, billed yearly: Basics is $9.99 with billable time tracking and intake request capture, with a 3-user minimum, and Accelerate is $24.99 with a 5-user minimum, which adds client invoicing from logged time, time budgets and retainers, and smart request forms with if/then logic. Both include a 14-day trial with no card required, per the page. If you run the retainer test, expect Accelerate to track the monthly hour budget well; check how the client sees progress, because the page does not state a client portal.
Limitations: at $24.99 per user, five users on Accelerate come to about $125 a month. The CRM pipeline and quotes sit on the contact-sales Optimize plan, and the Free plan caps at 5 projects.
Best for: content agencies that bill against hour budgets and are happy to pay per user.
4. Productive, best for agency budgets, capacity and profitability
Productive's pricing page lists budgeting, resource planning, project and task management, time tracking and reporting from Essential, shown at $10 per user a month billed yearly ($12 monthly; the page's 10-user example is $100 a month). Professional adds recurring budgets, rate cards, billable time approvals and invoicing integrations. The page says clients can be invited free of charge, and its sign-up form offers a free 14-day trial with no credit card required. If you run the retainer test, expect strong answers on whether a retainer is profitable, and expect to invoice from Productive on any plan; only the Xero and QuickBooks integrations start on Professional.
Limitations: the page does not state a branded client portal on any plan, does not list invoices or a CRM pipeline, and recurring budgets need Professional.
Best for: agencies of ten or more people that plan capacity and margin across many retainers.
5. HoneyBook, best for booking and paying a new content client
HoneyBook's Starter plan is $29 a month billed yearly and lists invoices and payments, proposals and contracts, a client portal and up to 2 live lead forms. Its page mentions invoicing on one-time, recurring or custom schedules. It offers a 30-day trial with no card required. If you run the retainer test, the proposal, contract and first payment will feel natural; check the project and deliverable steps yourself.
Limitations: automations and unlimited Scheduler sessions start at Essentials ($49 a month billed yearly; Starter allows 1), and the page does not list time tracking; it does list task management for deliverables.
Best for: solo content consultants who sell packages and need a clean sign-and-pay flow.
6. HubSpot free CRM, best for free lead and deal tracking
HubSpot's free CRM has no expiry and needs no card, with up to two users and 1,000 contacts, deal pipelines, a form builder and email marketing tools, per its product page. Paid tiers sit above the free CRM, so check which hub and billing period a quote refers to before you compare it with the flat plans above. HubSpot also groups free marketing, sales and service tools on the same page, which is useful when leads arrive through a content funnel. If you run the retainer test, expect it to handle lead capture and the deal; the deliverables, approvals and recurring invoice need other tools.
Limitations: the product page does not list projects, invoicing or a client portal, so delivery and billing live elsewhere.
Best for: agencies that mainly need to track leads and already have project and billing tools.
Side-by-side comparison
| Tool | Entry price | Billed yearly | Client portal on entry plan | Main entry-plan limit | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workspace369 | $29 a month (Cadet) | $23.25 a month | Yes | 5 active projects, 1 seat | 14 days, card required |
| Moxie | $12 a month (Starter) | $10 a month | No (Pro) | No portal or automations | 14 days, no card |
| Teamwork | $29.99 per user (Accelerate) | $24.99 per user (Accelerate) | Not stated | Priced per user | 14 days, no card |
| Productive | $12 per user (Essential) | $10 per user | Not named (clients can be invited free) | Recurring budgets need Professional | 14 days, no card |
| HoneyBook | $36 (Starter) | $29 a month (Starter) | Yes | 2 live lead forms | 30 days, no card |
| HubSpot | Free | Free | Not stated | 2 users, 1,000 contacts | Free plan, no card |
Which tool fits your content agency?
| If you mostly need | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Retainers from proposal to recurring invoice, with a portal | Workspace369 | Proposals, tasks, portal, time tracking and recurring invoices from Cadet |
| The cheapest all-in-one for solo work | Moxie | Proposals, projects and invoicing from $10 a month billed yearly |
| Hour budgets and retainers for a bigger team | Teamwork | Time budgets and retainers on Accelerate |
| Margin and capacity across many retainers | Productive | Budgets, resource planning and reporting |
| Selling and collecting for new packages | HoneyBook | Proposals, contracts and payments on every plan |
| Free lead tracking only | HubSpot free CRM | Free with 2 users and 1,000 contacts |
Run a four-article retainer test during the trial
Take one fictional client all the way through a month in each tool you shortlist:
- Send a proposal for a four-article monthly plan and accept it by link as the "client".
- Turn it into a project with a drafting, review and publish task for each article.
- Upload a draft and ask the "client" to approve it from the portal or by reply.
- Add a late extra interview as a new task and log time against it.
- Set up the monthly recurring invoice and add the extra work as a line item.
- A day later, find the whole history by searching the client's name.
If you run the test, expect the gaps to show at step 3 and step 5. Count how many times you re-enter the retainer scope between the proposal, the tasks and the invoice.

Handle extra revisions without losing margin
The most common retainer leak is the late request: another interview, a second revision round. Write the allowance into the proposal, record each extra request as its own task, and use the scope-change request builder to put the extra cost in writing. Workspace369 also lets you automate the follow-up: Workflow Automations offer 53 triggers, and a pre-made payment follow-up template sends reminders 1, 3, 7, 14 and 30 days after an invoice is due. Cadet allows 3 active email-only workflows.
Use the content marketing agencies product overview to see the client record, and review billing under invoices.
When to keep it simple
If you have two or three retainers and a shared drive and spreadsheet already work, you can wait. Move to a CRM when approvals get lost in email threads, when you cannot say who has not been invoiced this month, or when a client disputes what was in scope. Compare current plans on the pricing page.
Run the first month of a retainer on demo data, and confirm you can export your records before you bring real clients across.
Sources reviewed for this guide
- Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix reviewed October 22, 2026.
- Moxie pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for Starter, Pro and Teams features and prices.
- Teamwork pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plan prices, retainers and trial terms.
- Productive pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for Essential and Professional features and prices.
- HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for plans, client portal and trial terms.
- HubSpot CRMOfficial product page reviewed October 22, 2026 for free CRM limits.
- HubSpot pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 22, 2026 for the paid tiers that sit above the free CRM.
Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.
Run client follow-up in one workspace.
CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.
14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.