Best AI CRM for freelancers in 2026: what the AI can do

Which AI CRM suits a freelancer? Six tools compared on what the AI can read, write and send, what needs your approval, and cost, checked October 21, 2026.

We make Workspace369 and list it first here. Weigh our ranking with that in mind, and if another tool fits you better, use it.

Published October 15, 2026 · Updated October 21, 2026 · 10 min read

The best AI CRM for freelancers depends on what you want the AI to do. For prospecting, Every is built around it. For the lowest price with invoicing included, look at Moxie. For a freelancer who wants proposals, deposits, invoices, time tracking and an AI that asks before it sends, in one workspace, our pick is Workspace369. HoneyBook, Bonsai and Plutio sit in between. Not sure what your work is worth first? Try the free retainer calculator.

Disclosure and method: Workspace369 publishes this guide and is one of the options. It is a documentation-based comparison, not a hands-on benchmark. Vendor pages reviewed October 21, 2026. We read each vendor's own pricing and AI pages and quote only what they showed. Where a page did not state something, such as which plan includes a connector, we say so.

Key takeaways

  • An AI CRM is only as useful as what the AI is allowed to do: read your records, write drafts, or send to clients. Check each of the three separately.
  • HoneyBook, Bonsai and Every list connectors for Claude or ChatGPT on their own pages, and Moxie documents an MCP server on Pro and Teams, so the connector alone no longer separates tools; permissions, plan access and cost per use do.
  • Workspace369 fits freelancers who want proposals, deposits, invoices, time tracking and an AI that asks before it sends in one workspace from $29 a month; Cadet is limited to 1 seat and 5 active projects.
  • Every is the stronger choice for AI prospecting, and Moxie is the lowest-priced option here that includes invoicing, at $10 a month billed yearly.
  • Test any AI CRM by asking it to draft and send one real-looking invoice during the trial, and see what it does without you.
What's inside?What an AI CRM is (and what it is not)How we compared these AI CRMsHow to judge an AI CRMThe best AI CRMs for freelancers in 2026Side-by-side comparisonWhich AI CRM fits you?Stay on HoneyBook or Bonsai ifA product in action: from a Claude request to a queued invoice
Illustration: laptop with coffee and a clock

What an AI CRM is (and what it is not)

An AI CRM is a client system where an assistant can work with your records. That covers three different jobs, and products differ on each. Reading means answering "who owes me money?" from your data. Writing means drafting a proposal, logging time or updating a client. Sending means something reaches your client, such as an invoice or a message. A product that does the first well may be cautious about the third, which is usually what you want. An AI CRM is not an autopilot that runs your business, and none of the pages we read claim that. The sibling guide to the best CRM for freelancers covers the non-AI basics.

How we compared these AI CRMs

Also readBest CRM for freelancers

We checked each tool on the same five points, using only vendor pages:

  1. Which AI clients connect, such as Claude or ChatGPT, and whether an in-app assistant exists.
  2. What the AI can write, and whether changes or sends wait for your approval.
  3. Entry price for one person, monthly and billed yearly, where shown.
  4. AI allowance or plan gating, meaning credits, usage allowances or tier limits on the AI.
  5. Trial terms, including whether the page says a card is needed.

We did not test accuracy, speed, support or reliability, and we did not use third-party ratings. The order reflects documented fit for a freelancer who wants client work and billing in one place, not a ranking of AI quality.

How to judge an AI CRM

Before you connect real clients, put these questions to any tool:

  • Can it write, or only read? A read-only assistant is safe but saves less time.
  • What needs your approval? Ask whether drafting and sending are separate permissions.
  • Which plans include it? Several pages do not say, so check before you rely on it.
  • What does each use cost? Credits and usage allowances turn busy months into surprises.
  • Which clients does it work with? Claude, ChatGPT or any assistant that supports MCP, the open standard these connectors use.

The best AI CRMs for freelancers in 2026

1. Workspace369, best for freelancers who want the money path and approvals in one place

Workspace369 demo client record with one open invoice, an outstanding balance, and tabs for related projects, schedules and documents

Workspace369 connects Claude, ChatGPT and other MCP clients to your workspace on every plan once a workspace admin turns it on (how the connector works). Tools cover clients, proposals, contracts, invoices, projects, tasks, calendar, time and notes, more than 100 in all. Sending is a separate permission, and direct sends by the connector wait for your approval. Each connector call draws from the plan's monthly AI usage allowance. Inside the app, Ask AI pauses for your approve or decline before it changes anything, and sends stay gated even if you turn on Auto mode. AI AutoPilot Today ranks the invoices to chase and the clients to check in with, and only suggests. The entry plan also includes proposals with signing and a deposit on acceptance, invoices, a client portal and time tracking that bills to an invoice. Cadet is $29 a month ($23.25 billed yearly). The screenshot is a demo record, not a customer result.

Limitations: Writes can trigger workflows you have already switched on, and those can send. Cadet has one seat, 5 active projects and a monthly AI usage allowance. Texts and calls start at Voyager ($74 a month, two seats). AI-drafted workflows start at Commander. The 14-day trial needs a card. It has no AI prospecting agent.

Best for: freelancers who want an AI to draft and queue the admin, with a human click before anything reaches a client.

2. HoneyBook, best for a Claude connector and a 30-day no-card trial

HoneyBook's pricing page lists Starter at $29 a month billed yearly, Essentials at $49 and Premium at $109, with HoneyBook AI on all three. A HoneyBook post dated August 19, 2026 introduces a connector that reads pipeline, projects, invoices, contracts and messages, and, with your approval, creates projects, builds proposals, invoices and contracts from your templates and raises payment requests. The pricing page promotes a ChatGPT integration too. The page's FAQ describes a 30-day trial with no card.

Limitations: the announcement does not name which plans include the connector. Essentials allows up to 2 team members, and the monthly prices are $36 for Starter, $59 for Essentials and $129 for Premium.

Best for: freelancers who already run on HoneyBook or want its proposal, contract and payment flow with an AI layer. If you are weighing a move, see the HoneyBook alternatives and the Workspace369 vs HoneyBook comparison.

3. Every, best for AI prospecting and keeping a CRM current

Every presents itself as an AI CRM. Its page describes a prospecting agent that surfaces warm leads with a fit score, a deal agent that drafts next steps and waits for your approval before anything is sent, and enrichment from your inbox and social profiles. It works with ChatGPT and Claude. Solo is $25 a month billed annually with 10,000 AI credits, and the page lists proposals, invoicing, payments, expense and time tracking. The trial is 14 days with no card. On Solo the agent runs in ChatGPT, Claude and the iPhone app; Slack and the CLI are on the $129 Team plan.

Limitations: Solo is aimed at individuals, and the page does not state a user cap. The pricing page did not state monthly billing. Its page does not list contracts or e-signature, so check that before you replace a signing tool.

Best for: freelancers whose problem is finding and following up with leads, not the delivery side. If you already have a steady flow of clients and mostly need billing and delivery, a delivery-focused tool from this list may serve you better.

4. Bonsai, best for freelancers who bill per user and want time tracking plus a connector

Bonsai prices per user: Basic is $15 a month ($9 billed yearly), Essentials $25 ($19), Premium $39 ($29) and Elite $59 ($49, three users minimum). Invoices, proposals, contracts, forms and the client portal start at Essentials. The Bonsai MCP page names Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini, and says it can move deals, create invoices, log time and create tasks, with changes waiting for your review. It does not say which plans include it. The trial is 7 days. Bonsai's page says the work is "done in Bonsai, waiting for your review", which reads as applied first and reviewed after. A freelancer with simple needs can start on Basic and move up when invoicing or contracts are needed. See the Workspace369 vs Bonsai comparison.

Limitations: the deals pipeline and custom fields start at Premium, and the page was unclear on whether a card is needed to start.

Best for: solo freelancers who like per-user pricing and already track time in Bonsai. If you add a collaborator later, remember each person is billed as another user.

5. Moxie, best for the lowest price with invoicing included

Moxie lists Starter at $10 a month billed yearly ($12 monthly), Pro at $20 ($25) and Teams at $32 ($40), capped at five members. Its AI assistant is included in Starter. Pro adds a white-label client portal, workflow automations, API integrations and a phone line. The page advertises a 14-day free trial, and it did not state whether a card is needed. Starter's list includes invoicing, proposals and contracts, and time tracking, so it is the lowest-priced option here that includes invoicing. See the Workspace369 vs Moxie comparison.

Limitations: the page lists no Claude or ChatGPT connector, only the in-app assistant, and automations and the white-label portal need Pro, which doubles the entry price.

Best for: freelancers who want a low-priced all-in-one with an in-app assistant and do not need an external AI client.

6. Plutio, best for freelancers who want credits-based AI drafting

Plutio lists Core at $19 a month ($190 a year, about $15.83 a month), Pro at $49 ($490 a year) and Max at $199 ($1,990 a year). Its assistant drafts proposals and contracts, plans projects and summarizes client conversations, using 500 credits a month on Core (2,500 on Pro). Lookups and updates cost 1 credit and a generated document 5. The trial is 7 days without a card; if you do not subscribe, the workspace is locked as you left it until you pick a plan, with your data kept. See the Workspace369 vs Plutio comparison.

Limitations: Core is capped at 9 active clients and no contributors, and there is no dedicated AI connector; Plutio's help center says Claude or ChatGPT can reach a workspace through its REST API.

Best for: freelancers with a handful of clients who want an assistant that drafts documents. If you expect more than nine active clients, plan on Pro from the start.

Side-by-side comparison

ToolAI connects toEntry price, yearlyApproval for changesMain gateTrial
Workspace369Claude, ChatGPT, other MCP clients; Ask AI in app$23.25 a month (Cadet)Direct connector sends wait for approval; Ask AI asks first1 seat, 5 active projects14 days, card required
HoneyBookClaude connector, ChatGPT, HoneyBook AI$29 a month (Starter)Writes need your permissionPlan access not stated30 days, no card
EveryChatGPT, Claude, iPhone$25 a month (Solo)Deal agent waits for approvalTeam plan ($129) is for up to 514 days, no card
BonsaiClaude, ChatGPT, Gemini, others$9 per user (Basic); $19 for invoicingDone in Bonsai, then "waiting for your review"Pipeline on Premium7 days
MoxieIn-app assistant; MCP server on Pro and Teams$10 a month (Starter)Not statedAutomations on Pro14 days, no card
PlutioIn-app assistant$190 a year (Core), about $15.83 a monthNot stated9 active clients7 days, no card

Which AI CRM fits you?

If you mostly needStart withWhy
Proposal to paid invoice with approvalsWorkspace369Proposals, deposits, invoices and time on Cadet; direct connector sends wait for you
Mature all-in-one, no-card trialHoneyBook30-day trial and a Claude connector
AI to find and warm up leadsEveryProspecting and deal agents
Per-user pricing with time trackingBonsaiTime tracking from Basic, connector on paid plans
The lowest price with invoicingMoxie$10 a month billed yearly
AI drafting with creditsPlutioProposals and contracts drafted by the assistant

Stay on HoneyBook or Bonsai if

Stay on HoneyBook if your client flow already works, you value its 30-day no-card trial, or your clients know its booking and payment pages. The Claude connector there may already cover what you want. Stay on Bonsai if per-user pricing suits you, you use its time tracking daily and its review step suits you. Switching costs setup time, and an AI layer alone rarely justifies it.

A product in action: from a Claude request to a queued invoice

The test that tells the tools apart is a real chore. Ask the assistant to draft an invoice from logged hours, then watch what it does next. In Workspace369 the draft appears in your invoices as a draft, and a send from the connector waits for your approval. Time you tracked in time tracking feeds the invoice, and the proposal you sent earlier with a deposit on acceptance sits on the same client record.

Workspace369 demo invoice editor with line items, a due date and a send action

The screenshot is a demo invoice, not a customer result. Run the same chore in each tool you shortlist, and note which steps needed you, which happened silently and which plan you needed.

Before you connect real clients, confirm what each connector can change, what it costs per use and how to disconnect it. Compare current plans on the pricing page.

Sources reviewed for this guide

  • Workspace369 pricingPlan matrix and prices reviewed October 21, 2026.
  • HoneyBook pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 21, 2026 for yearly prices, team members, HoneyBook AI and trial terms.
  • HoneyBook connector announcementHoneyBook post dated August 19, 2026, reviewed October 21, 2026 for what the connector reads and writes.
  • Bonsai pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 21, 2026 for per-user prices, features by tier and trial.
  • Bonsai MCPOfficial page reviewed October 21, 2026 for supported AI tools and review-before-apply behavior.
  • EveryOfficial page reviewed October 21, 2026 for agents, integrations and trial terms.
  • Every pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 21, 2026 for plans, AI credits and what is included.
  • Moxie pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 21, 2026 for plans, member cap, AI assistant and Pro-gated features.
  • Plutio pricingOfficial pricing page reviewed October 21, 2026 for plans, client cap, AI credits and trial.

Workspace369 publishes this documentation-based comparison and is one of the options. It is not an independent ranking or a hands-on benchmark.

FAQ

What is an AI CRM?

A CRM where an AI assistant can work with your client records: answer questions about them, draft proposals or invoices, log time, or find leads. What it may do without asking differs a lot between products.

Can Claude or ChatGPT work with my CRM?

Several can. HoneyBook, Bonsai, Every and Workspace369 each describe a way to connect Claude, ChatGPT or other MCP-compatible assistants. Check which plan includes it and what it can change.

Will an AI CRM send emails or invoices without asking?

It depends on the product. Workspace369 holds direct connector sends for your approval, Bonsai says work is done in Bonsai and "waiting for your review" and Every says its deal agent waits for approval before anything is sent. Confirm this in a trial before connecting real clients.

What does an AI CRM cost for one freelancer?

On the vendors' own pages on October 21, 2026, billed yearly: Moxie $10 a month, Plutio about $15.83 ($190 a year), Bonsai $9 to $29 per user depending on tier, Every $25, HoneyBook $29 and Workspace369 $23.25 (Cadet). Monthly billing costs more at most vendors.

Do AI features cost extra?

Often they draw on an allowance. Workspace369 plans include a monthly AI usage allowance. Plutio lists 500 AI credits on Core and Every lists 10,000 on Solo.

Is Workspace369 the best AI CRM for freelancers?

For a freelancer who wants the whole money path and approvals in one tool, it is our pick. Every suits AI prospecting better and Moxie costs less. We publish this guide, so weigh our ranking accordingly.

Run client follow-up in one workspace.

CRM, inbox, voice, invoicing, payments, projects, files, AI, and workflow automations — connected instead of exported.

14-day free trial. Card required. After the trial: from $29/month. Renews automatically every month until you cancel. Cancel anytime in Settings → Billing.